Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-01-2022, 02:24 PM
smokeydan smokeydan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 56
Default Pro Tools on an M2 MacBook Air

I'm trying to decide between an M1 MacBook Air - which is qualified - and the newer M2 Air - which several articles suggest should be good but I don't think any of the authors have actually used it with Pro Tools and it isn't officially qualified yet - Does anyone here have actual experience running Pro Tools on an M2 MacBook Air? Any issues?

Many Thanks

Dan
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1, 2 x 3.46Ghz six core Xeon, 64GB RAM, Mojave, PT Ultimate 2022.6, H/D Native PCie, Avid Omni interface.
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, 64GB RAM, High Sierra, PT Ultimate 2019.12, 2xHDX cards & UAD Octo PCIe card in Sonnet TB Chassis, 2 x Lynx Aurora 16 interfaces.
MacBook Pro 32GB RAM Catalina, PT 2022.6, UAD Apollo X4
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-01-2022, 03:12 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,280
Default Re: Pro Tools on an M2 MacBook Air

Probably no. I have been waiting for my fully loaded M2 air since the launch day, and now it seems I may have it next week.

M1/M2 difference is very subtle. One good point is M1 models have better storage performance than M2 256GB and 1TB capacities. Another being M2 memory maxing at 24GB and M1 maxing at 16GB.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-02-2022, 04:18 AM
thin ice thin ice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 881
Default Re: Pro Tools on an M2 MacBook Air

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
One good point is M1 models have better storage performance than M2 256GB and 1TB capacities.
Is this true? I thought it was just the 256GB internal drive that had a compromised speed to watch for.
__________________
Mac Mini M1 16 GB
OS 12.5.1
PT 2022.7.0

Mac Pro Quad Core
OS 10.8
PT9HD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-02-2022, 08:44 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,280
Default Re: Pro Tools on an M2 MacBook Air

Quote:
Originally Posted by thin ice View Post
Is this true? I thought it was just the 256GB internal drive that had a compromised speed to watch for.
Yes. 256GB and 1TB are single chip, 512GB and 2TB are double chip.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-2022, 02:10 AM
Teej Teej is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 193
Default Re: Pro Tools on an M2 MacBook Air

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Yes. 256GB and 1TB are single chip, 512GB and 2TB are double chip.
What is the source for this? I can find references to the 256GB model, but I have never heard the claim the 1TB model has slow performance relative to the 512GB/2TB SKUs.

Thanks
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" (2018) / macOS 11.6 / PTU 2022.10
MacMini M1 (2020) / macOS 12.6 / PTU 2021.3.1/2022.10
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-10-2022, 02:35 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,280
Default Re: Pro Tools on an M2 MacBook Air

Google didn't find me the source I am referring to, but Apple only uses 256 and 1024 GB chips and motherboard has room for two. Do the math.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-10-2022, 03:00 AM
thin ice thin ice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 881
Default Re: Pro Tools on an M2 MacBook Air

It's not possible to post the link, but there is a conversation on reddit with a speed test attached. Quite poor that Apple would sell an upgrade that detracts from performance.
__________________
Mac Mini M1 16 GB
OS 12.5.1
PT 2022.7.0

Mac Pro Quad Core
OS 10.8
PT9HD
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-10-2022, 03:10 AM
Teej Teej is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 193
Default Re: Pro Tools on an M2 MacBook Air

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Google didn't find me the source I am referring to, but Apple only uses 256 and 1024 GB chips and motherboard has room for two. Do the math.
Math is great, I'm looking for the source that proves Apple only uses 256GB and 1024GB chips. There is plenty of evidence of the former, I haven't seen any evidence of the latter yet. I asked for evidence, the reply was evasiveness and a vague insult.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thin ice View Post
It's not possible to post the link, but there is a conversation on reddit with a speed test attached. Quite poor that Apple would sell an upgrade that detracts from performance.
Speed test is a roundabout way of determining the number of chips used. Simply look at the logic board and see, are there two flash modules or one?

This, in combination with a speed test, will determine if a) there are one or two chips used and b) if there is an impact on performance.

We know from visual inspection and from speed tests that the 256GB M2 models use single SSD chips and are speed-compromised. It's not unreasonable to ask the claims relating to the 1TB models to be backed up with the same standard of evidence. Otherwise it's "trust me bro."
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" (2018) / macOS 11.6 / PTU 2022.10
MacMini M1 (2020) / macOS 12.6 / PTU 2021.3.1/2022.10
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-10-2022, 03:32 AM
Teej Teej is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 193
Default Re: Pro Tools on an M2 MacBook Air

I've also found the reddit thread, which contains rebuttals from people showing full expected performance figures from 1TB M2 models.

A speedtest alone is not enough, all that shows is performance is reduced. Without visual confirmation there is only one flash module, it's pure speculation as to why the speeds are so slow on that particular machine.

So far you guys are going to have to provide much better evidence, because I can also provide you with evidence to the same standard. I saw a screenshot someone posted showing full expected speed on a 1TB M2 model. There's my evidence. Trust me bros.

One side is wrong, and none of us have provided enough evidence to say one way or the other.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" (2018) / macOS 11.6 / PTU 2022.10
MacMini M1 (2020) / macOS 12.6 / PTU 2021.3.1/2022.10
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-10-2022, 06:08 AM
thin ice thin ice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 881
Default Re: Pro Tools on an M2 MacBook Air

I'm not really trying to prove anything, but just a wary customer not wanting to be caught out on a new machine in the future. I was surprised when I read the claim the 1tb machine could be worse than a 512.

It is an odd situation, that simply opting for a different size hard drive would impact on the machines performance. The swap memory function adds quite a bit of performance too when RAM size is limited on some models.
__________________
Mac Mini M1 16 GB
OS 12.5.1
PT 2022.7.0

Mac Pro Quad Core
OS 10.8
PT9HD
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 11 and Pro Tools Duet on a Macbook Pro i5 2.5ghz late 2010 TheSoundshaper Pro Tools 11 1 06-24-2015 01:17 PM
Is Macbook Air and Pro Tools possible? dream5695 macOS 12 01-04-2013 05:24 PM
Best way in to Pro Tools on MacBook fhrussell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 07-18-2010 06:59 PM
Pro Tools LE 7.3 on a new macbook pro? Raoul Duke 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-05-2009 07:20 PM
Macbook Pro 2.4 vs. 2.5 and Pro Tools... pguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-19-2008 12:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com