Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-26-2022, 03:34 PM
ZerglingPhilosophy ZerglingPhilosophy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: USA
Posts: 30
Default HD IO 50-pin internal connector for card

Hi. I have an Avid HD IO 8x8 (8 analog input, 8 analog output, no digital card). I'd like to add another 8 input channels to it. I am looking at the Avid HD I/O AD Option Analog Input Expansion Card. This way I could have 16x8 in one chassis.

Reading the manual, I need a 50 pin cable. Is this a 50 pin SCSI II cable or AVID proprietary? Anyone know where to get one?

Last edited by ZerglingPhilosophy; 09-26-2022 at 05:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-26-2022, 05:30 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,280
Default Re: HD IO 50-pin internal connector for card

Everything you need will be delivered with the expansion card.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-29-2022, 08:20 AM
ZerglingPhilosophy ZerglingPhilosophy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: USA
Posts: 30
Default Re: HD IO 50-pin internal connector for card

It's a private sale and they said only what's pictured (no ribbon). I have been on with AVID support the last couple days for the connectors. They may have difficulty sourcing it. But I will keep the thread updated. It got me really wondering if it's simply this common SCSI II DB-50 pin connector...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-2022, 09:12 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,280
Default Re: HD IO 50-pin internal connector for card

Yes it is, but as far as I remember the cable should already be there in the interface box. Open it before sourcing a generic cable of wrong length (may be difficult to fit in)
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-29-2022, 03:18 PM
ZerglingPhilosophy ZerglingPhilosophy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: USA
Posts: 30
Default Re: HD IO 50-pin internal connector for card

All I ever got in the old days was the HD Native PCIe box. I don't think I ever got the HD IO box because the dealer opened it up for me to yank out one of the 8x8x8 expansion cards to save a college kid a couple of bucks (they dealed me an 8x8 at my request). This must be why it seems difficult to get a replacement: because most everybody else already got one!! I also see why ribbon cables exist: they are darn convenient to slip into tight enclosures. I only see 3 and 6 feet DB50 cables online. It looks like the HD IO is a 3 inch.

Last edited by ZerglingPhilosophy; 09-29-2022 at 03:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-29-2022, 04:17 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,280
Default Re: HD IO 50-pin internal connector for card

Just open your interface. You have a screwdriver, don't you? And no, not the drink, but the hardware. You would see the ribbon cable is there waiting for an expansion card. Otherwise I have memory problems at age of 44 years.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-29-2022, 08:01 PM
ZerglingPhilosophy ZerglingPhilosophy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: USA
Posts: 30
Default Re: HD IO 50-pin internal connector for card

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Just open your interface. You have a screwdriver, don't you? And no, not the drink, but the hardware. You would see the ribbon cable is there waiting for an expansion card. Otherwise I have memory problems at age of 44 years.
Hey I can open the HD IO but don't ask me to fix the garage door opener. There ain't nuthin' in thur. Me thinks the studio took the ribbons when they took out their expansion card. Lots of cat fur in the chassis though.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-29-2022, 08:03 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,280
Default Re: HD IO 50-pin internal connector for card

Just check if it is there or not. If someone removes expansion card the ribbon is most likely left alone as it takes much more effort to remove it from motherboard.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-29-2022, 08:04 PM
ZerglingPhilosophy ZerglingPhilosophy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: USA
Posts: 30
Default Re: HD IO 50-pin internal connector for card

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Just check if it is there or not. If someone removes expansion card the ribbon is most likely left alone as it takes much more effort to remove it from motherboard.
It's not, sorry I was getting silly and my post wasn't clear. I popped open the chassis and see 2 used ribbons, 2 open ribbon slots, and 0 available ribbons
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-29-2022, 08:12 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,280
Default Re: HD IO 50-pin internal connector for card

Alrighty. So take one of the existing cables as a reference, try to source SCSI cable of good length. Too much and you have hard time putting it back together.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WANTED: Host card for Digidesign Expansion HD chassis (pcie ethernet card) topdiggy2 Buy & Sell 0 02-04-2015 09:22 AM
WTB:Digidesign MH192 D/A Expansion Card Output Expansion Option for 192 I/O postman56 Buy & Sell 3 09-07-2014 07:15 AM
WTB: 192 D/A expansion card Guy McDude Buy & Sell 0 09-07-2012 01:58 AM
Expansion Card for 96 I/O MikeX Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 08-01-2010 11:04 AM
Is this a PPC expansion card ? peterfitz General Discussion 3 08-17-1999 04:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com