Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 12-13-2021, 04:41 PM
KCBass KCBass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6
Default Re: Is Pro Tools First discontinued?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
You can rent Pro tools for $34.99 monthly to finish your project. Perhaps not a perfect solution for you, but something to think about.
Hey Tom,

WOW....You've obviously done the internal "AVID Sales for beginners" course...why on earth would I want to pay you guys $34.99/month for something that's I was duped into thinking I would be getting free access to with my other purchase? Bad taste, indeed.

I hear Audacity works just fine...
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-13-2021, 04:52 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,283
Default Re: Pro Tools | First - Not available after registration

PT|first or the ancient PT|free are not guaranteed to be there forever. Avid has the right to pull the plug anytime. They say there are technical problems so there are technical problems. If you need PT now and trial runs out, just buy a subscription where you commit monthly, pay montly. Problem solved. Unless you are doing pro bono work, 35 per month should not break the bank.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-13-2021, 04:55 PM
dominicperry dominicperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 536
Default Re: Pro Tools | First - Not available after registration

If this isn't a PR disaster for Avid, it should be. Depriving people of software they were promised, and/or were using is not acceptable, even if it is free.
The lack of information, poor communication and lengthy delays while people try to start or finish projects is also depressingly familiar Avid behaviour. It's no way to treat artists, engineers, or anyone really.

I dare say there will be a litany of "you've got to understand......." and "Avid is a commercial company....." type responses, but frankly no one should kid themselves. Bad bahaviour like this will have repercussions.

Dominic
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-13-2021, 05:13 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,283
Default Re: Pro Tools | First not available?

What was promised? This is currently available, nothing more. And besides even if you buy a license you do not own the software. You own rights to use it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-14-2021, 09:30 AM
Basslice Basslice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Western Mass
Posts: 40
Default Re: Pro Tools | First - Not available after registration

Yeah, this is a problem with bundles and such. If a company decides to discontinue an offering that another company is advertising as part of a bundle, what do you (and they) do?

As far as I know, Avid has discontinued Pro Tools First. Offers change. For example, Focusrite now bundles things like the Brainworx bx_console Focusrite SC plugin which I bought a couple of months ago. I'd love to get that money back, but I cannot get the new bundles that weren't offered when I bought my new interface a couple of months ago. Not that I expect it either. It is what it is.

If you bought the product and you can show that Pro Tools First was bundled when you bought it, you should have every right to a refund if you want it. Where did you buy it?

For the record, I am a very satisfied Pro Tools (Full) paying subscriber. I think it is great. I tried Pro Tools First before I bought the real product and "First" sucked for many reasons - most free-hobbled software sucks. That is probably why they ditched it.

If I were you I would probably keep the interface and rework the project into Reaper if you cannot afford or do not like Pro Tools offerings.
__________________
Lenovo Legion 5 Laptop PC, Intel Hexa-Core i7-10750H, Nvidia GTX 1650Ti, 32GB DDR4 RAM, 512GB SSD, Windows 10 Enterprise (20H2), 1TB SSD external work drive, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20, Pro Tools 2022.9, Avid Control w/Apple iPad, Avid Dock Control Surface, Avid S1.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-14-2021, 10:01 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,283
Default Re: Pro Tools | First - Not available after registration

AFAIK there is ongoing discussion what Avid is doing with the bundles, but it also seems that First is not coming back. What do I know, will need to wait and see.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-14-2021, 01:01 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,504
Default Re: Pro Tools | First - Not available after registration

Avid has (since 2001) offered a free introductory version of Pro Tools. It will be interesting to see how this evolves.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2022 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-21-2021, 03:46 PM
PhilipKapadia's Avatar
PhilipKapadia PhilipKapadia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: London
Posts: 96
Default Pro Tools First discontinued?

Hi all,

Anybody know why avid recently discontinued pro tools first? I can't find any info as to why anywhere.
Media composer first and sib first coming next?

Many thanks for any insight in advance.
__________________
Editing Move Magic
https://philipkapadia.com/stuff
philipkapadia@gmail.com
Media Composer Ultimate 2022.7 | Pro Tools Studio 2022.6 | Sibelius Artist 22022.5
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 12-22-2021, 05:22 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,064
Default Re: Pro Tools | First - Not available after registration

EDIT: Misread your post when I first replied.

I don't think Avid have released any more info beyond: https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=418226

I think you can still download it if you've previously registered it, but new registrations have been stopped.

Joel
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3770 / 24GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2021 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 11 Pro
Pro Tools 2021 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Two 2x10 Passive Monitors / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM

Last edited by JoelG; 12-22-2021 at 05:23 AM. Reason: Reading comprehension
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 12-23-2021, 12:24 AM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,598
Post Re: Pro Tools | First - Not Available

Thank you all for raising your concerns over Pro Tools First.

Unfortunately, Pro Tools First has, on a technical level, become unviable for us to continue. Every alternative has been considered in the hope we could continue providing access to it, and we haven't taken the decision to end the program lightly. We've welcomed millions of users to the program, and we thank everyone for their support over the years, but time has come for us to discontinue Pro Tools First. We're now looking at alternatives to replace it with something new and compelling in the future, so watch this space.

Existing users of Pro Tools First can continue using the product to work on their projects. For those asking about Media Composer First and Sibelius First, we have no plans at this time to end those programs.

As we've posted before, if you're new to Pro Tools, you can get up and running with the Pro Tools and Pro Tools Ultimate trials, and we hope you enjoy the amazing features and workflows of the Pro Tools family.
__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No longer Able to Transfer Pro Tools 10 roberts macOS 6 06-17-2013 12:03 PM
Pro Tools SE no longer usable. redd1971 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 6 01-30-2012 08:01 AM
Pro Tools Le no longer opens protoolsteve 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-05-2009 05:51 PM
Pro Tools Le no longer opens protoolsteve 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-28-2008 10:18 AM
Pro Tools LE 6.1.2 (and 6.1.1) no longer work bob Ancona 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-31-2003 04:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com