Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2010, 10:46 AM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 2,055
Default Talkback Switches

I would like to get a new talkback solution over my current sustain pedal switch. I am tired of having to look under the desk to find the pedal and make sure it is turned properly and everything every time I want to say something. I would much rather have a small box on the desk with a switch that I could toggle on and off for talkback.

I've done some research and found out that what I need is a SPST switch or a Monetary Switch to a TS connection. I know I could probably build one myself, but does anybody know of any that might already be manufactured to do this?

Also, it would be a huge plus to find one that has a couple switches in parallel instead of series so that it could be toggled on and off by the producer/client as well.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2023.9
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 11.7.4
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2010, 11:15 AM
gw sound gw sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 123
Default Re: Talkback Switches

I use the Shure 450 series II tabletop mic. It has a push button on it that can be locked down if you want and works great. All-in-one deal. No worries about a mic here and a switch there.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2010, 11:32 AM
O.G. Killa's Avatar
O.G. Killa O.G. Killa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,152
Default Re: Talkback Switches

It's actually "Momentary" not "Monetary" switches you need. Here's a link to switchcraft's "switches" page.

http://www.switchcraft.com/products/switch-search.html

Any one of them that is labeled as "Momentary" will work for you. There are all different types and form factors (some round, some square, some light up, some don't light up, some are hand held, some are designed to be built into a box, some latch, etc...)
__________________
Derek Jones
Sound Engineer / Producer / Composer

Derek Jones Linkedin
Megatrax Recording Studios
Megatrax Studios Yelp Page
A-list Music Artist Page
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2010, 12:41 PM
smpkeys smpkeys is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 193
Default Re: Talkback Switches

I use the Presonus Central Station with the additional remote. It's probably my favorite piece of gear in my studio (ok, next to my Avalon 737!)

Let's me switch monitors and sources easy, and has a great talk back. The other cool thing is that I can use "Y" adapters on the back for pedal inputs,so clients can all have they're own talk back switch.

http://www.presonus.com/products/Det...px?ProductId=1
__________________
2010 Mac Pro, 3.46 GHz 6 Core Xeon,32 GB RAM, OSX 10.9.5, PT 12.4, RME Fireface UFX, Command 8, Mytek 8x192, SSD evo on System,Audio&Samples on spinner drives WD SATA 64mb Cache
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-17-2010, 01:10 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,419
Default Re: Talkback Switches

Quote:
Originally Posted by smpkeys View Post
I use the Presonus Central Station with the additional remote. It's probably my favorite piece of gear in my studio (ok, next to my Avalon 737!)

Let's me switch monitors and sources easy, and has a great talk back. The other cool thing is that I can use "Y" adapters on the back for pedal inputs,so clients can all have they're own talk back switch.

http://www.presonus.com/products/Det...px?ProductId=1
+1 for this. I love mine as well
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-17-2010, 01:29 PM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CRANLEIGH (gateway to the Surrey Hiils), UK
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Talkback Switches

Why not try Source Talkback from those nice Source Elements people.
A software switch to give big desk talkback functionality into PT.
Works like a dream.

Cheers
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Audio Consultant, Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer & Journalist

BAFTA member
IPS member

----------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-17-2010, 01:33 PM
Sean Russell Sean Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DC Metro
Posts: 1,287
Default Re: Talkback Switches

Massey has a talkback plug if we're talking software. And I know a guy that loves his Mackie Big Knob (although I'd prefer the API 7800 Master Station).
__________________
... but does it help the chorus?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-17-2010, 07:02 PM
ilovemyssl ilovemyssl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: The interwebs
Posts: 217
Default Re: Talkback Switches

Before i had the money to shell out for a CR monitoring setup, i used to use a $2 doorbell switch (you know the old-skool ones with the terminals on the back). I used to cut up a mic cable, and wire the switch in the middle of it.

If you spent the time you could make it look ok, or even mount it in your desk... not the greatest looking thing but it was cheap and it did the job!
__________________
Pro Tools HDX // 11.3.1 HD // 2x Avid 16x16 HD I/O // 2x 192 I/O // Avid Artist Mix
2012 Mac Pro 12-core // 64Gb RAM // macOS 10.12.1
SSL 4056G
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Source Talkback AAX gets auto talkback MIKEROPHONICS Post - Surround - Video 0 11-20-2013 08:15 AM
Control 24 dim and talkback switches stuck on Makin' Sausage Music ICON & C|24 3 06-08-2009 06:26 AM
Two Talkback Switches on D-Command nickmurphy ICON & C|24 2 05-07-2007 02:23 PM
Talkback switches? CraigLearmont ICON & C|24 4 10-28-2005 04:37 PM
OT- Help! Does anyone know how to set the dip switches on Basshead3606 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-12-2003 10:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com