Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-31-2009, 01:52 PM
evanbenjamin evanbenjamin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 129
Default DCP requirements

So I am looking at providing files for a digital cinema package. I have never done one before, so I am learning as I go.

The specs are 24fps (true 24) /48K. My work was done at 29.97/48K.
Short of an analog transfer to another machine, how do I accomplish this speed change? Varispeeding after the fact would work, I suppose, but how exact is it?. And, anyway, without doing it to a 24fps master, I'd be flying in the dark.

How do you all do this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2009, 03:42 PM
Norad155 Norad155 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 356
Default Re: DCP requirements

Hey evan,

check here
http://ptdudes.com/2009/05/18/audio-pull-updown/

or shoot me an e-mail

<3
-Major
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-05-2021, 07:42 AM
RacketUp RacketUp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 11
Default Re: DCP requirements

Quote:
Originally Posted by Norad155 View Post
Hey evan,

check here
http://ptdudes.com/2009/05/18/audio-pull-updown/

or shoot me an e-mail

<3
-Major
Oddly enough - your link goes to an IMDB page for Steve Giammaria not pull-up /pull down procedures.

Anyway, OP if you need help, msg me aswell. Easy enough without doing a analog transfer. We also have a DCP business do this often. Lemme know.
__________________
PT2020.11 w/ S4_16-4 | 7.1 Mix Room
PT2020.11 w/ 24Fdr DCommand ES | 5.1 Mix Room
PT2018. w/ 48Fdr DualMain DCommand | 9.1.4 Theatre
Dolby & THX certification & IMAX.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-05-2021, 08:27 AM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,867
Default Re: DCP requirements

Quote:
Originally Posted by evanbenjamin View Post
So I am looking at providing files for a digital cinema package. I have never done one before, so I am learning as I go.

The specs are 24fps (true 24) /48K. My work was done at 29.97/48K.
Short of an analog transfer to another machine, how do I accomplish this speed change? Varispeeding after the fact would work, I suppose, but how exact is it?. And, anyway, without doing it to a 24fps master, I'd be flying in the dark.

How do you all do this?
I used these guys on a feature a few years ago I did all of the score and audio post for. They were very nice and helpful. We had to deliver to the Grauman's Chinese Theatre, (producer's screening thing), so I had to figure all that out for them which was not really my gig. Anyway, this should be a good link for help.
Good luck! G

http://simpledcp.com/home/
__________________
Composer/Sound Designer/Protools 24.3.1 Ultimate, MTRXII-TB3, DADMAN MOM, Cisco SG350-10MP EthernetHUB, KLANG:quelle 4 Channel Dante™Headphone Amp, DVS,MADI, Mac Studio Ultra,128 RAM/4TB SSD, Ventura 13.6.7, DP 11.3.2, Logic Pro X 11.0.1 DOLBY ATMOS Facility/MPSE Motion Picture Sound Editors Avid Certified Professional ProTools/Dolby ATMOS
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-05-2021, 09:33 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 974
Default Re: DCP requirements

You just make a 24fps PT session and import your finished 23.98 mix file whilst applying the pull up to 24.


I do it the other way all the time to make 23.98 masters from 24 for US TV.


No mystery about DCP, just export your surround mix (if that's what is) as individual mono files rather than interleaved, so they can put it in the DCP creation software.


Hope it helps.
__________________
Mac Pro 7,1 16 core, OSX 12.7.3, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, MTRX Studio, 2xRME ADA-4, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, Avid Dock, Avid S1, PT Control, Soundflow, PT 2023.12
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-07-2021, 04:08 AM
kosmokrator kosmokrator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 143
Default Re: DCP requirements

You HAVE to get the final 24fps version of the movie as a reference before doing any final audio laybacks!!

There are different ways of changing the frame rate of a movie. Some change the length, in which case you have to do the speed change to your audio channels, some have the length stay the same (resulting in picture artefacts), in which case you don't have to change anything.

So NEVER do any speed changes without the a reference picture file in the correct final fps!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 8, XP Ram Requirements jazzmandan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-04-2009 03:07 PM
Win XP Pro SP1 v. SP2, LE 6.9 sys requirements leafblower 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-24-2005 03:06 PM
PC requirements for PT HD Media Man Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 07-14-2005 10:32 PM
Requirements for 16 mm mix- Help. mgoorevich Post - Surround - Video 5 03-07-2005 12:12 PM
ram requirements? coaster Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-19-2000 05:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com