Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 08-28-2021, 04:16 PM
Spoil the Child Spoil the Child is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Philippines
Posts: 41
Default Re: How to Open Pro Tools 10 Session in Pro Tools 2021.7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
My wife is from Bohol

That's wonderful!
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-28-2021, 08:38 AM
Spoil the Child Spoil the Child is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Philippines
Posts: 41
Default Re: How to Open Pro Tools 10 Session in Pro Tools 2021.7?

UPDATE

I should have more accurately titled this thread post as "How to Open Pro Tools 10 on an Old System Using the New Pro Tools 10 License Bundled with Pro Tools 2021".

I'd like to thank everyone for the replies, info, tips, and advice. Just to add: After having gathered useful and educational info from all of you for which I am grateful, I, then, decided to message Avid via Facebook for additional details and final confirmations, and they were responsive and helpful.

So, here are my update details which could hopefully help others who may have similar concerns:

- I was able to install and run PT 2021.7 on a Mac M1 Mini (Big Sur 11.6) and was also able to install and run most, if not all, my previous plugins via Rosetta. My new PT 2021.7 license (bundle) resides on an iLok 3.

- On my older iMac running Lion 10.7.3 with my old Pro Tools 10.0.0 license residing on an iLok 1, I simply plugged my iLok 3 (into another USB port) and opened iLok License Manager which, then, updated and auto-synchornized (?) licenses. As expected, the original PT 10 license on my iLok 1 has been grayed-out (or auto-deactivated, I suppose, upon my having surrendered it for PT 2021.7 registration and activation). So, just to confirm: Yes, surrendering your original/old PT 10 license for PT 2021 means that you will, indeed, no longer have access to it (but that you will also be given a new one!).

- And the good news: PT 10.0.0 launches and absolutely works on my old iMac!

- FYI: The PT 10 installer that comes with 2021.7 bundle is v10.3.10. I thought I had to first uninstall v10.0.0 on my old iMac and then install this v10.3.10 for the new license to work. But it turns out, the bundled PT 10 license opens v10.0.0 as well (I'm not tech-savvy, so imagine my pleasant surprise!). The reason I had tried this out in the first place was because I still needed my RTAS plugins on that old iMac and so I didn't want to erase v10.0.0. FYI also: v10.3.8 was the last version update that supported RTAS (with the addition of AAX). One might wonder why I just didn't upgrade to v10.3.8 anyway while I was at it, and the reason is that v10.0.0 has worked well for me the past 9 years on my old iMac and so I didn't want to have to uninstall (which is recommended by Avid, even when updating to a minor version) and risk inviting trouble.

- So, everything is working so far. I just plug my iLok 3 into whichever computer I need for work (meaning, into the M1 for my PT 2021.7 or into my old iMac for PT 10.0.0).

Hope this helps others.

Thank you, again, everyone, for all your help!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to activate Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3 Subscription Bundle to iLOK Cloud Session? XJENSEN Pro Tools 10 07-14-2021 04:00 AM
Can I open a Pro Tools 2019 session with Pro Tools 11? Zak7 Pro Tools 2019 5 06-10-2019 04:17 PM
Pro Tools 9 crashes every time I open a new session or import session data Ryan Butler macOS 14 03-23-2014 07:53 AM
Pro Tools 8 crashing when I try to open a session or start a new session AbstractHabitat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 01-25-2012 04:58 AM
Pro Tools HD 7.4 zipped Session wont open in Pro Tools SE Lyvewire Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac) 3 03-01-2011 04:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com