Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-01-2017, 05:48 PM
gcasper gcasper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Northern California
Posts: 83
Default Control surface vs interface

So my new laptop not only doesn't have a firewire port, it's also lacking a PCMCIA slot! That means I'm not able to connect and use my Digi 002 for remote tracking. So my question is, if I buy a Command 8, will Pro Tools run with just that connected, as in it functions as an interface as well as control surface like the Digi 002, or not? Also, if I buy something like a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, will that let me run Pro Tools without any other interface?

I already have ASIO4ALL, so I'm covered if I have to go that route. I'm just wondering what my options are.

Thanks!

------------------------------------------------------------------
Windows 10 home, Pro Tools Native 10 & 11
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2017, 05:58 PM
mjslakeridge's Avatar
mjslakeridge mjslakeridge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,087
Default Re: Control surface vs interface

No. The Command 8 is not an interface.
__________________
"Whiskey Bottle...Brand New Car...Oak Tree You're in my Way" RVZ

Digi 002 rack , Command 8, Behringer ADA 8000, Tascam M-320B Mixer, Alesis Monitor Two Speakers, Vintage and Modern Tube Amps, Fender American Strat, 1973 Gibson SB-450 Bass, Epiphone Les Paul Traditional Pro, Roland W-30 Keyboard, Preimier XPK Fusion Drum Kit.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S3 Control Surface and AVB Interface ??? Mike496 Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App 3 02-10-2015 05:13 PM
Digi 002 Control Surface as Just an Audio Interface littlegreenmen13 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 07-07-2011 04:53 AM
002 as control surface with seperate interface in PT9 alxt Pro Tools 9 9 11-30-2010 11:39 PM
Will LE users ever get HEAT or a NEW INTERFACE/CONTROL SURFACE??? windsongstudios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 17 08-23-2010 06:27 AM
Control surface - MIDI interface Freakybeatz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 09-25-2004 04:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com