Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2021, 09:35 AM
halipino123 halipino123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: LA
Posts: 25
Default Mackie mixer before DIGI002 inputs?

This is probably a dumb question but trying to utilize the gear that I have. Would the sound quality improve at all if I put my mic into a small Mackie mixer before going into the DIGI002 inputs?


Thank you.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Mackie mixer.jpg (59.2 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-18-2021, 09:47 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,140
Default Re: Mackie mixer before DIGI002 inputs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by halipino123 View Post
This is probably a dumb question but trying to utilize the gear that I have. Would the sound quality improve at all if I put my mic into a small Mackie mixer before going into the DIGI002 inputs?


Thank you.
No. 002 preamps are better than Mackie preamps, but even so, they are nothing to brag about. If you want to improve your sound quality, buy something that costs more than a thousand for two channels. Then opinions do vary.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-18-2021, 09:56 AM
halipino123 halipino123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: LA
Posts: 25
Default Re: Mackie mixer before DIGI002 inputs?

Really, Mackie are less than the 002? Would have never known, thank you for your knowledge.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-18-2021, 09:59 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,140
Default Re: Mackie mixer before DIGI002 inputs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by halipino123 View Post
Really, Mackie are less than the 002? Would have never known, thank you for your knowledge.
Unless you have a really big Mackie console that is. Just assuming it is the normal small Mackie you are talking about.

002 preamps are actually decent. They are "clean" so if you want preamp that colors the sound you need to get one (or pair) of those.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-18-2021, 10:30 AM
halipino123 halipino123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: LA
Posts: 25
Default Re: Mackie mixer before DIGI002 inputs?

Do you feel SPDIF inputs are good enough on 002, I'm using a Kemper at this point and trying to figure out of my guitar tracks would improve with a different IO.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-18-2021, 10:33 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,140
Default Re: Mackie mixer before DIGI002 inputs?

Digital is digital, it is always "perfect" so long as you get clocking problems due to too long or too low quality cables.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mackie cfx16 and digi002 studiokeyz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-24-2007 05:24 PM
Using a mackie mixer for more XLR inputs skyking 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-24-2002 05:20 AM
How do I best use my Mackie 1604 VLZ pro mixer? pickin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-01-2002 06:56 PM
Mackie mixer AdamF 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 12-06-2001 08:35 AM
Mackie D8 Mixer + Mix plus serguel Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-07-2001 08:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com