Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2020, 04:47 AM
FunkzzaJ FunkzzaJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 181
Default OneDrive/Document install path

Hi all !

Q: Uninstall and remove OneDrive completely?

The Documents folder, holds below folders as they all were installed by corresponding installers beginning year ago whith purchase of new computer.

Pro Tools
AIR Instrument Bundle
Air Music Technology
IK Multimedia
Toontrack
UVI
iZotope
...etc

However, the full path for e.g. the Pro Tools folder is:

C:/Users/MyUserName/OneDrive/Documents/Pro Tools

i.e. OneDrive is in the install path. I have un-linked OneDrive so it doesn't sync, but I'm not sure if this is how it should be. Does your installation path include OneDrive for the documents folder?

I feel it should just be cleaner and more 'orderly' to have the path like this:

C:/Users/MyUserName/Documents/Pro Tools

As I'm now about to upgrade PT (on 2019.6), and some plugs, I wonder if I should
1. uninstall - remove OneDrive - clean install
2. Remain with OneDrive but having it un-linked

Any thoughts ?

/FZZ
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2020, 05:45 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,032
Default Re: OneDrive/Document install path

Unless you need cloud storage completely uninstall OneDrive. Reboot and update PT and plugins.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2020, 03:28 AM
FunkzzaJ FunkzzaJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 181
Default Re: OneDrive/Document install path

Ok. Done. OneDrive gone. Happy.

Skickat från min Moto G (5) via Tapatalk
__________________
Free beer tomorrow !!
- but until then -
we're stuck in the present moment
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-21-2022, 03:31 PM
Befuddled Befuddled is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: 3835 Gardiner Ferry Road
Posts: 2
Default Re: OneDrive/Document install path

I had the same problem on a new computer build/install. I solved the problem by going to Setup>Preferences I opened the Operation tab. There at the bottom left you can set where Pro Tools retrieves and stores the media and setting locations. I copied my files to the the documents folder under my user id and then changed the locaton to those directories. This could be cumbersome if you have a lot of data so I ended just creating a new Project file and let the system create new cache files. This not only made opening Pro Tools faster but also closing Pro Tools because it was writing data to the local drive.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2018 | install plugin path? chip_nelson Getting Started 8 03-31-2018 05:37 AM
Onedrive rant JuanPC General Discussion 18 07-13-2016 07:53 PM
can't create a new document quickgerund macOS 3 05-30-2014 03:38 AM
Document to new darkman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-13-2009 07:26 PM
Install Path for Vista Home Premium System akakpaws 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-26-2008 01:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com