Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-02-2005, 05:53 AM
robmusic robmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Default Electronic drum set/ midi input to mbox and mac

I'm hoping to get some help getting started with midi. I have a Roland xv 2020 and a Yamaha DTXtreme electronic drum set that I was trying to input into my iBook through a midisport 2+2 converter for both of these two sources. I followed the directions for midi set up (OSx) and the midisport is recognized but the roland and yamaha products are not listed among the defaults.

Anyone know how to get this going?

appreciate any help, thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-02-2005, 09:36 AM
mindnoise mindnoise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germany and Tokyo
Posts: 3,094
Default Re: Electronic drum set/ midi input to mbox and ma

HI the default names in the AudioMidi setup are just to make it look nicer.
they contain no important information.

Just add two more MIDI devices, give them the appr Name and set the send/receive channels and number of I/O ports in the advanced pop-up. Then connect them (virtually) to your MidiSport.

and off you go.

regs
__________________
last: PT11.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-02-2005, 12:32 PM
robmusic robmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Default Re: Electronic drum set/ midi input to mbox and ma

I think I was trying to do what you mentioned, the problem is I can't find the particular model sound module and drum set in the midi set up window. I know there is a driver for the roland ( I bought it used and it didn't come with it so I'm trying to get it from roland)sound module, nothing came with the Yamaha drum set to load on the computer. Neither of these models are in the default list. These are not obscure tools ( I don't think anyway)

any other suggestions?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-02-2005, 07:53 PM
robmusic robmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Default Re: Electronic drum set/ midi input to mbox and mac

thanks again!

I'll give it a try
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electronic Drum sounds gross1 The Drum Room 3 07-19-2013 10:44 AM
Is MIDI Suffieient for recording Electronic Drum Kits? if Not, what should be used? swalker133 The Drum Room 5 08-12-2011 08:41 AM
How to input electronic kit into Mbox 2 probot The Drum Room 1 12-18-2009 12:58 AM
electronic drum kit recording setup(MIDI) help!!!!!!!!!!!!!! moon1pulse MIDI 5 06-13-2007 01:36 AM
simple drum input device for MIDI jason levy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-07-2002 04:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com