Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-25-2000, 01:04 PM
Robert U Robert U is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Dubai U.A.E
Posts: 771
Default Confused about authorization challenge-response

Most plugs that they are making today are using the challenge-response metod to authorize. I've been told that you can use the same response code as long as you have the same harddrive....don't know if it will work after making a low level format though. What happens when you change computer...do you have to get a new response every time??? When I bought Serato pitch'n time it said "1 authorization" meaning that I don't have anyone left...

Is there any way to deauthorize or do you have to rebuy the plug every now and then


I would appreciate it very much if someone who knows how this will work could clarify the situation...

------------------
Robert Uhlmann
__________________
www.extensivemusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-25-2000, 02:09 PM
dBHEAD dBHEAD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Kansas City, MO USA
Posts: 678
Default Re: Confused about authorization challenge-response

About six months ago we had a catastrophic system crash. The engineer had to deuathorize Pro Tools and every plug we had, then install a new operating system and re-initialize the hard drives.

We had no problem de-authorizing and then re-authorizing any of the plugs except DINR. The engineer believes he can get DINR back too, but thinks it may be quite a wrestling match. So we've decided to take a "we'll cross that bridge when we come to it" attitude.

If you're asking about Serato specifically, I don't know. But ALL the plugs I've installed have said "1 authorization left" at some point during the installation, and then "0 installations left" after they were installed. But in every case, it's been possible to deauthorize and get the original authorization back. Usually, it's somewhere in the manual for the software.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-25-2000, 02:36 PM
Robert U Robert U is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Dubai U.A.E
Posts: 771
Default Re: Confused about authorization challenge-response

-dBHEAD

I just double checked with some of my manuals and it says nothing about deauthorizing. That is only mentioned for the plug's that I have which are using a floppy as authorization.

In your situation you just initalized the harddrive which would keep the authorization intact anyway.

What I am talking about is when you need a new computer with a totally empty hard drive. Then you will get another challenge string meaning you'll need a new response code. Perhaps you'll get a new one once from the software company and then.....?


------------------
Robert Uhlmann
__________________
www.extensivemusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-25-2000, 04:57 PM
dBHEAD dBHEAD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Kansas City, MO USA
Posts: 678
Default Re: Confused about authorization challenge-response

Actually, yes, you're right, I was talking about plugs which used floppies for authorization. I haven't actually installed any plugs which DIDN'T use floppies for authorization. However, I did completely uninstall one (VOC-ALIGN) and install it in a different computer with no problems. However, that one used a floppy for authorization.

Sorry I couldn't be more help. Two possible suggestions:

One: I had some problems with Mezzo and found answers in the documentation installed with the software. So if you haven't checked that possibility yet, there might still be a simple solution.

Two: call the company which made the software. I've actually done that even when the solution to the problem IS in the manual. If I can't find it in the table of contents or index for the manual, I'd much rather spend a buck or two on a phone call than spend hours searching through the manual trying to find an answer which might not even be there. My time is far too valuable.

Here's a lesson I've learned over the years: in my job (I'm a TV station Production Manager) I have to work with cameras, video switchers, mixers, VTRs, graphics computers, digital audio workstations, video editing systems, lighting dimmer boards, etc. When I run into a problem which befuddles me (which happens just about every day), I've found that in the long run you're often much better off to call the company which made the product you're having a problem with. It really is a way of cutting to the chase.

Good luck!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Challenge/Response GyphtBoy Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 08-06-2007 03:34 PM
Challenge/Response Structure Blackthorn Virtual Instruments 2 03-12-2007 09:35 PM
Challenge and Response!? GTBannah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 01-27-2007 06:28 PM
Pace, manual Challenge response?? Mark 66 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 08-13-2006 12:48 AM
Challenge /Response 4times4mil 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-18-2006 08:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com