Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-05-2014, 01:41 PM
Serikiito Serikiito is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 16
Default Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 to Pro Tools 10

Hi,

I'm looking to transfer the project audio from Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 to Pro Tools 10. I've tried using an OMF file however I can't relink the original audio files that were imported into Premiere Pro with Pro Tools, as it seems that the OMF file creates new audio files to read from.

This would be fine but I'd prefer to use the original BWF tracks that were used that include all the meta data that Pro Tools can read.

Has anyone got a solution to my problem? I did try and convince the editor to use Media Composer but that's a no go! Ha.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-05-2014, 01:52 PM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,081
Default Re: Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 to Pro Tools 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serikiito View Post
Hi,

I'm looking to transfer the project audio from Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 to Pro Tools 10. I've tried using an OMF file however I can't relink the original audio files that were imported into Premiere Pro with Pro Tools, as it seems that the OMF file creates new audio files to read from.

This would be fine but I'd prefer to use the original BWF tracks that were used that include all the meta data that Pro Tools can read.

Has anyone got a solution to my problem? I did try and convince the editor to use Media Composer but that's a no go! Ha.
AAF should be able to use the original media (it can from Media Composer). Failing that use an XML and Conformalizer or the new EdiLoad.

There's nothing inherently wrong with using OMFs - they are bit-for-bit identical to the original files, just new names.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-05-2014, 03:07 PM
Serikiito Serikiito is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 16
Default Re: Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 to Pro Tools 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom_lowe View Post
AAF should be able to use the original media (it can from Media Composer). Failing that use an XML and Conformalizer or the new EdiLoad.

There's nothing inherently wrong with using OMFs - they are bit-for-bit identical to the original files, just new names.
When I import an AAF file from Premiere Pro it can't relink the audio even though I am directing it to the right folder location.

Conformalizer and EdiLoad are quite a bit out of my price range.

Edit: It can't find the files because Pro Tools doesn't support multi-channel audio files from AAF/OMF files. Which is a bit naff... I guess that means I have to convert to mono in Premiere Pro but that also means I can't use the original files as they're poly files.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-05-2014, 05:48 PM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,081
Default Re: Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 to Pro Tools 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serikiito View Post
When I import an AAF file from Premiere Pro it can't relink the audio even though I am directing it to the right folder location.

Conformalizer and EdiLoad are quite a bit out of my price range.

Edit: It can't find the files because Pro Tools doesn't support multi-channel audio files from AAF/OMF files. Which is a bit naff... I guess that means I have to convert to mono in Premiere Pro but that also means I can't use the original files as they're poly files.
OMF doesn't support interleaved files, so that's not a fault of Pro Tools - not sure about AAF.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-05-2014, 06:18 PM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 619
Default Re: Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 to Pro Tools 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom_lowe View Post
OMF doesn't support interleaved files, so that's not a fault of Pro Tools - not sure about AAF.
In every AAF file I've ever gotten from Final Cut or Logic users the stereo files import as split mono. Bane of my existence. But AAF is still better than OMF at retaining and translating original info.
__________________
Custom i9-12900K, 64GB RAM, W10 Pro, PT Ultimate 2022.5, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, UAD-2 Octo; Mac Pro 12-core 3.46, 64GB RAM, Mojave, Logic Pro 10.5.1, Apogee Rosetta 800, UAD-2 Quad, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Mojave, MOTU 8-Pre-ES, Pro Tools 2021.7
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-05-2014, 07:46 PM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,081
Default Re: Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 to Pro Tools 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by seanmccoy View Post
In every AAF file I've ever gotten from Final Cut or Logic users the stereo files import as split mono. Bane of my existence. But AAF is still better than OMF at retaining and translating original info.
FCP can't export to AAF, only OMF
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-05-2014, 07:59 PM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 619
Default Re: Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 to Pro Tools 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom_lowe View Post
FCP can't export to AAF, only OMF
Actually FCPX can't even do OMF. My clients have FCPX and X2Pro, which converts the FCP XML file to AAF.
__________________
Custom i9-12900K, 64GB RAM, W10 Pro, PT Ultimate 2022.5, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, UAD-2 Octo; Mac Pro 12-core 3.46, 64GB RAM, Mojave, Logic Pro 10.5.1, Apogee Rosetta 800, UAD-2 Quad, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Mojave, MOTU 8-Pre-ES, Pro Tools 2021.7
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-05-2014, 08:04 PM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,081
Default Re: Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 to Pro Tools 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by seanmccoy View Post
Actually FCPX can't even do OMF. My clients have FCPX and X2Pro, which converts the FCP XML file to AAF.
Ah, thought X2Pro just did OMF. Interesting to know. Shame they cut on FCP X!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-05-2014, 08:10 PM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 619
Default Re: Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 to Pro Tools 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom_lowe View Post
Shame they cut on FCP X!
Don't get me started...
__________________
Custom i9-12900K, 64GB RAM, W10 Pro, PT Ultimate 2022.5, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, UAD-2 Octo; Mac Pro 12-core 3.46, 64GB RAM, Mojave, Logic Pro 10.5.1, Apogee Rosetta 800, UAD-2 Quad, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Mojave, MOTU 8-Pre-ES, Pro Tools 2021.7
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-06-2014, 04:32 PM
Kris75's Avatar
Kris75 Kris75 is offline
Space Cabin Audio
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,557
Default Re: Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 to Pro Tools 10

Use these settings

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=328887

Now, if you have PT11, you can open up the omf from premier and it will relink, even using .wav files! Finally!!
__________________
Sign up for all things....AWESOME!




Kris
May the music move you
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OMF from adobe premiere doesn't work in Pro Tools Sniperdot 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 09-10-2009 08:54 AM
Adobe Premiere to Pro Tools question. JWalkerPostAudio Post - Surround - Video 11 12-13-2008 08:40 PM
AAF from Adobe Premiere into PT7 mampam Post - Surround - Video 4 05-30-2008 01:25 PM
Anyone did Digi 001 + Adobe Premiere Pro. ESR 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-10-2005 10:56 AM
DC-30+ with Adobe Premiere 4.2 Applebee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 02-16-2001 12:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com