Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-30-2022, 12:09 AM
Kerochan Kerochan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: London UK
Posts: 198
Default Re: Need advice on new HP Workstation

Quote:
Originally Posted by K Roche View Post
But they say the "Fan" in the Mac Studio are actually pretty quiet

I agree with albee that seems like a lot of money for marginal CPU speed.
Strange, a friend of mine says the noise from the Mac Studio is constantly audible, thats before fans kick in.
I think its to do with the voltage, Europe seems to have the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-30-2022, 08:21 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,766
Default Re: Need advice on new HP Workstation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kerochan View Post
Strange, a friend of mine says the noise from the Mac Studio is constantly audible, thats before fans kick in.
I think its to do with the voltage, Europe seems to have the problem.
Sorry I was making a pun joke on the OP ("not a Mac fan" ) guess it wasn't funny

Interesting :: I know two people States side that have Mac Studio's and say they do not hear them,,,, maybe it is a voltage thing?
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2022.5 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Monterey 12.4

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-30-2022, 09:06 AM
Kerochan Kerochan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: London UK
Posts: 198
Default Re: Need advice on new HP Workstation

Quote:
Originally Posted by K Roche View Post
Sorry I was making a pun joke on the OP ("not a Mac fan" ) guess it wasn't funny

Interesting :: I know two people States side that have Mac Studio's and say they do not hear them,,,, maybe it is a voltage thing?
Ha, no worries , I was aware you were making a pun joke!

But yeah, I think its a voltage thing, I wonder if Apple will even bother to fix it!?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-30-2022, 10:05 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,766
Default Re: Need advice on new HP Workstation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kerochan View Post
Ha, no worries , I was aware you were making a pun joke!
oh good,,, for a moment there I though I was really loosin' it
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2022.5 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Monterey 12.4

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-30-2022, 11:21 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,897
Default Re: Need advice on new HP Workstation

The HP Z series PCs are like Mac build quality but for Windows. They are simply stunning to open up and view the engineering it took to make everything so clean and precise.

I also have a Z820 and it is the most stable computer ever. Before that I built my own PC's and even purchased purpose built PC systems for Pro Tools.

Nothing touches the HP Z series in terms of stability and compatibility for Pro Tools.

I'm not saying you can't build a similar system that is even more powerful for less money, you can. But, it hasn't been tested with Pro Tools.

I wouldn't suggest the Z820 today since it is DDR3 ram and last generation Xeons, though, if you are cash strapped, it should work just fine for many years to come. I have Windows 11 installed on mine and have zero issues, it really is a monster machine.

If you want to save some cash, eBay is your friend. You'll find tons of off-lease Z series PCs and laptops for thousands less than new.

As mentioned, there's also the new Mac Studio which is also an amazing machine if you decide to go that route.
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro | macOS 12
Pro Tools 2021
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need advice on new PC workstation build and parts New_Selas Windows 2 12-01-2019 11:51 AM
Build a ProTools workstation - Need Advice, Thanks David Lawler Getting Started 9 07-02-2018 01:21 PM
UVI workstation rossi68 Pro Tools 9 0 04-21-2011 03:22 AM
Advice on buying a new Audio/Video Workstation… rogerhavoc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 08-11-2003 12:54 AM
MAC, PC or Workstation? Ricky Ricardo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-13-2001 05:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com