Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2023, 01:25 AM
Sondre Sondre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Location: Norway
Posts: 2
Default IO 96 and Digidesign C24 - How to connect everything

The school I work at recently got a hold on a Digidesign C24, Digidesign IO 96, and a Mac Pro 2009, along with some multi-cables. I got ethernet connection between Pro Tools and the board for controlling it with Pro Tools, but I don’t understand what I am missing to get sound to work. I got some DB-25 to xlr cables for outputs and cues.

1. Do I need a DB-25 to jack cable and connect that to the IO 96 for inputs to get sound in?
2. To get sound out, do I need to connect the jack outputs from the IO 96 to the DB-25 in to “Pro Tools In”?
3. The Pre-amps for the C24, that’s just controllers for the IO 96 preamps right? If I connect further preamps with the IO 96 through ADAT, should the C24 controllers for the preamps still work?

Thanks in advance for any advice!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2023, 02:26 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,671
Default Re: IO 96 and Digidesign C24 - How to connect everything

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sondre View Post
3. The Pre-amps for the C24, that’s just controllers for the IO 96 preamps right?
No the C|24 preamps are analog preamps that you feed into the analog line inputs of an interface. 96IO, 192IO, HD IO etc. are all only analog line level or digital I/O they don't have any onboard preamp capabilities.

I think all the questions you are asking are covered in the C|24 and related documentation if you read though it carefully. The C|24 guide has some great connection diagrams that answer the bulk of what you need. And more importantly what you are not asking yet is also covered there. And setting up the 96IO and whatever related DigilLink (HD TDM, HD Native or HDX card is all covered in it's separate documentation--since none of that is actually part of the C|24).

The C|24 can be a bit confusing for folks to start with because it's multiple *separate* things, an Ethernet control surface, analog preamps, analog monitoring stage etc. but it's not an interface and provides no inputs or outputs itself. Getting your head around that is a start, and also realizing you can just play with/test our each part/function separately... so for example start by just getting sound output from the 96IO analog outputs to a pair of powered monitors.

Hopefully you have a HD Native or (edit:) HDX (not old HD TDM) card to connect up to the 96IO. Get all that working separate from the C|24 first.

And while the C|24 has been widely used, the downside is the preamps are not great, the monitoring section is not great either (maybe it's weakest part IMNSHO), and it's an old/end of life product with Pro Tools support dropping off. It's not EUCON based, and not does not provide all the new bells and whistles of an EUCON surface. I'd be careful how much time and effort is invested in this vs. other options (e.g. I'd personally much rather work on non-Avid open CoreAudio interfaces (with monitor control capabilities) and if wanting a control surface then use Avid Eucon S1 controllers) and if this system is old HD TDM I'd be running for the doors.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 02-07-2023 at 02:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-07-2023, 08:43 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 24,932
Default Re: IO 96 and Digidesign C24 - How to connect everything

Nothing wrong in C|24 monitoring section. It is 5.1 and I use it on live productions every now and then. Too bad it probably won't see Apple Silicon.

But sure, plenty of better preamps and monitor controllers than C|24 but is integrated which is nice. I would shun the 96 converters first.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-07-2023, 01:11 PM
Sondre Sondre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Location: Norway
Posts: 2
Default Re: IO 96 and Digidesign C24 - How to connect everything

Thanks for the quick reply, that helped a lot. I have concluded, like you sugested, that its not worth it. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I can't conect my Midiplus AKM320 Cesareho MIDI 0 07-17-2018 08:20 AM
Digi 002 won't conect to PT rimskidog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-06-2006 01:29 PM
Ethernet to conect 2 Macs Notefarm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 09-24-2004 02:58 PM
How to conect a Preamp in my system ??!!! lukemaniak Tips & Tricks 2 05-21-2001 04:01 PM
Cannot conect to [email protected] Camilo Orozco Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 11-03-2000 12:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com