Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2010, 12:55 AM
karljohnson karljohnson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 78
Default Urgent help - audient asp008 aes and digi 192

Can anyone help -just bought an Audient ASP008 and cannot get a digital signal out of the unit via aes into the Digi192....
I am getting a signal in on every channel but not a thing out digitally - the word clock is set to external on the ASP008 and the digi I ve set dig input to aes...
I ve gone into pro tools and set input in session on 8 tracks to A9 - A16 BUT NOT A THING comes in- any ideas? -
Hope someone can help
Thanks
Karl
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2010, 03:23 PM
Andre Knecht Andre Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,193
Default Re: Urgent help - audient asp008 aes and digi 192

Quote:
Originally Posted by karljohnson View Post
Can anyone help -just bought an Audient ASP008 and cannot get a digital signal out of the unit via aes into the Digi192....
I am getting a signal in on every channel but not a thing out digitally…
Hello Karl,

A lot of things are left vague in your post. I’ll try my best.

On the back of the ASP008, did you select “AES” as its digital output format? (For AES, the push button must be in the “Out” position.)



Quote:
… the word clock is set to external on the ASP008 …
Make sure that your 192 (or something else) is set to be the clocking master (since the ASP is slaving).



Quote:
… and the digi I ve set dig input to aes. I ve gone into pro tools and set input in session on 8 tracks to A9 - A16 BUT NOT A THING comes in- any ideas? -
Again, a bit fuzzy.

In Hardware Setup - [Digital] tab

1) Select AES/EBU as the Input Format



In Hardware Setup - [Main] Tab

2) Select ascending “AES/EBU” pairs (i.e. “1-2” through “7-8”) for each pop up menu listed in the “Input” column, starting with the pop up labelled “9-10” (because it seems that you are using 1-8 for your analog signals).




IO Setup - [Inputs] tab

a) Create four stereo inputs.

c) Name the above “ASP 1-2”, “ASP 3-4”, etc.

c) For each of the above, create a pair of sub-paths (mono).
Incidentally, ProTools will append “.L” and “.R” extensions to these. I like to go in and edit the names of these mono paths with the appropriate channel name and number. For example, I’d rename the “ASP 1-2 .x” sub-paths as “ASP 1” and “ASP 2”, respectively.

d) Be sure to assign the proper “Pez” buttons on the grid, for all the above.



In your session, you should now be able to select “ASP X-X” as your inputs, and receive signals.



If things still don’t work, I’d investigate the cabling (also left unclear in the post) used to make the digital connection between the ASP-008 and the 192 I/O.

IHTH.

__________________
Andre Knecht

We’ll fix it in the shrink-wrap. (Frank Zappa)

.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2010, 06:44 PM
Jay Levin Jay Levin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 131
Default Re: Urgent help - audient asp008 aes and digi 192

If you're ruled out the obvious, the likeliest cause does seem to be the snake.

There are two different popular standards for running four stereo channels of AES/EBU through a DB25 connector. Are you sure you have the right one for the 192?

JSL
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digidesign 96io clock + Apogee MINIME + audient ASP008 YellowDissident Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 07-18-2013 07:55 AM
Help - audient asp008 aes output into 192 karljohnson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-07-2010 03:19 PM
digi please! I need an urgent advice Mubeau Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-20-2005 11:16 AM
DIGI Urgent Xplosvebob 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-03-2002 06:12 PM
pro control vs audient speedyk5 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-23-2002 04:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com