Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2008, 04:54 AM
studiokeyz studiokeyz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 53
Default midi/audio overdub

I'm trying to overdub in midi and audio. I'm using PT 7.3 @ home on my laptop and @ my studio, when I select the transport window and enter 1 in the pre roll box it goes to the start of the song no matter what marker I select. Say I select 5:00 and want to overdub around here it will go to the beginning of the song then when it gets to the 5:00 it'll start the overdubbing. Why is it doing this? Am I missing an option?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-21-2008, 05:18 AM
andrewSF andrewSF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 194
Default Re: midi/audio overdub

You do have "Link Timeline and Edit Selection" turned on, right? Are things working normally except when you've got the pre-roll turned on?

My first thought was that you might be selecting pre-roll of an hour rather than a minute, but that would only be possible if you were using time code for your main counter. Do you happen to have the DV Toolkit?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-21-2008, 10:58 AM
studiokeyz studiokeyz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: midi/audio overdub

yes link timeline and edit selection are on. i dont have the dv toolkit, im just trying to see why is it doing this, it used to work fine. I know its probably one small option i have set but i cant find what exactly it is.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-21-2008, 12:36 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default Re: midi/audio overdub

So you want a 5 minute pre -roll?

Click on the time section of the transport and change the drop down menu to bars, 4 bar pre roll will then read something like 5/00/00 not 5:00.

Also make sure you selecting the area you want to overdub and not just dumping the cursor and then hitting record in a single spot.

Cheers
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
midi overdub with pt? kalony Tips & Tricks 4 08-12-2008 05:27 PM
MIDI Overdub? tabnetic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-30-2006 08:24 AM
midi playback and overdub audio porkipine 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-24-2005 07:15 PM
How do i overdub an AUDIO track??? Mactronix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-29-2002 02:43 PM
How do i overdub a midi track? Mactronix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-28-2002 11:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com