Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-25-2005, 10:31 AM
trex6591 trex6591 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Default Installing on non-C drive

I installed Pro Tools M-Powered on my K: drive (where most of my apps are). Pro Tools comes up fine but when I was exploring the UI and tried to insert a plugin on an audio track none of the supplied plugins showed up. I can see the plugins in C:\Program Files\Common Files\Digidesign\DAE\Plugins not on the K: disk with the rest of Pro Tools. Does Pro Tools need to be on the same drive as the "Common Files" directory?

This is my first use of Pro Tools of any flavor so there's a high likelihood of user error.

Thanks,

Tony
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-25-2005, 11:46 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Installing on non-C drive

It is best and recommended to install PT (any version) on whichever drive the system resides. If your windows installation is on C: then the entire PT installation should be on C:
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-26-2005, 09:34 AM
trex6591 trex6591 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: Installing on non-C drive

I was afraid of that. I made some room on the C: drive and re-installed and the plugins are available.

Thanks for the info.

Tony
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing 9 on New drive Dogcode Pro Tools 9 2 11-09-2010 01:08 AM
Help installing 3rd drive? digifriend 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-15-2008 10:10 PM
Help with Installing 10.4.7 on a FW Drive For PT...! KingAce 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-29-2008 08:04 AM
installing Fw drive stickstome2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-20-2006 05:47 PM
installing an IDA drive on a G5 stevesound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-09-2006 02:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com