Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-31-2009, 07:11 PM
craig-tx craig-tx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 35
Default Noise in Avioms when Stage rack is off.

We have a Profile system with a FOH / Stage rack setup.

In the Stage Rack, we have an Aviom card in output slots 1 and 2. That feeds an A-16D Aviom distribution amp that powers and feeds a number of A-16II mixers.

I have noticed that when powering off the system, we typically leave the Aviom's on. However, when the Stage Rack is powered off, there is a horribly loud / high pitch noise in any headphone still plugged into the A-16II mixers.

Has anyone else experienced this?

Before the digi, our old analog setup included an AN-16i input which fed a similar Aviom distribution amp / mixer setup. However, when we powered that unit off (leaving the Distro on) we never had this problem.

Any ideas?

We probably should get into a habit of turning off the Avioms, but that is not guaranteed. And I would hate to damage any headphones due to the noise.

-craig
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-31-2009, 08:34 PM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: Noise in Avioms when Stage rack is off.

Hi Craig,

That's an interesting one. What happens when the A-Net connection between the Stage Rack (powered off) and the A-16D is pulled? Does the noise go away?

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-01-2009, 03:59 AM
craig-tx craig-tx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 35
Default Re: Noise in Avioms when Stage rack is off.

I will have to check that.. Next weekend.

The install is in our church and I probably won't be there again until Saturday.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-02-2009, 09:08 AM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: Noise in Avioms when Stage rack is off.

Hi Craig,

The Aviom folks have been made aware of your issue and ask that you call their customer support line to sort this out. The number is +1 610-738-9005 (press "2" for support). Ask for Ross - he's the support person who's been in the loop on this. Let us know the result.
Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-02-2009, 12:23 PM
craig-tx craig-tx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 35
Default Re: Noise in Avioms when Stage rack is off.

Sheldon,

I appreciate this. I'll find a time when I can get to the church and play around. I'll give Ross a call, and report back here when we have more info.

-craig
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-06-2009, 07:08 PM
craig-tx craig-tx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 35
Default Re: Noise in Avioms when Stage rack is off.

I briefly looked at this again tonight. It's apparent now that the Digi has nothing to do with the problem.

When I turn off the Stage Rack, the A-NET indicator LED on the Aviom distribution goes off (as expected.) Loud noise as before.

I turned the Stage Rack back on, A-NET was restored, and the noise went away.

I unplugged the CAT 5 input cable from the Aviom distribution amp. A-NET was lost and the noise returned. So basically as soon as A-NET is gone, the Aviom system goes nuts.

We have another Aviom system in the youth auditorium and I know this is not normal. So I'll contact Ross at Aviom next week.

Tomorrow if I get a chance I want to see it it's on any particular Aviom channel or all 16.

-craig
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-14-2011, 02:31 PM
MTC Audio MTC Audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg, MB Canada
Posts: 1
Default Re: Noise in Avioms when Stage rack is off.

Craig,

Did you ever get this sorted out?

I'm having the same problem. I'm using a Yamaha PM5D linked with a DSP5D. The Aviom card is in the DSP5D and when it's powered off, I'm getting the same noise as described in all 11 Aviom units. When it's powered up, no problems.

Aviom tech support claim they haven't heard of this before. They think there may be a bad unit in the chain.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-15-2011, 02:59 PM
Kenmillerjr's Avatar
Kenmillerjr Kenmillerjr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 597
Default Re: Noise in Avioms when Stage rack is off.

...guess it is not VENUE specific then. Just for kicks and giggles, what version of the VENUE OS are you running? (Options>System Bottom Right corner)
__________________
Ken Miller, Jr.
Audio Engineer
Southside Baptist Church | Warner Robins, GA

| VENUE Profile 96X64 with MADI Option | ProTools 7.4.2 HD3 Accel PCI | ProTools 10 Native | MacBook Pro 17" OS 10.7.1 2.3GHz Intel Core i7 8GB Ram | Mbox 2 Pro | Mbox 3 Pro | Motu 896mk3 Hybrid |
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Record form Mix Rack & Stage Rack into 1 Pro Tools system kwz VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 01-04-2011 12:10 PM
Stage rack problem gbranch VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 04-05-2010 02:16 PM
Losing stage link to 2nd stage rack sonicboost VENUE Live Sound Systems 7 11-15-2009 01:43 AM
Stage Rack Fan Noise~ Jae Hwan Kim VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 05-23-2006 05:13 PM
FOH & Stage Rack size? dstagl VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 06-22-2005 09:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com