Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-01-2003, 07:50 AM
msog msog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 151
Default Davec test shows cpu in red after record only

Hey guys,

I'm running the test like instructed and I'm not sure about something. As I add tracks I noticed that the cpu usage window shows completely in the green while recording but after I stop recording after the 69 seconds, the cpu meter then shows a little red...not while recording but after recording has stopped...is this still considered to be "in the red"? If I continue to add tracks the cpu meter will eventually go into the red prior to recording...So, is the system still recording properly if the meter is in the green while recording? or does the red after recording has stopped indicate that the recording was bad? I'll post my results after I get a reply from this post...I think you might be surprised at what I'm getting from my self built system.

thanks,

Jim
__________________
Thanks,

Jim (I used to be alot younger)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-01-2003, 08:08 AM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Davec test shows cpu in red after record only

CPU in the read doesn't mean anything went wrong with the recording.

Quote:
Hey guys,

I'm running the test like instructed and I'm not sure about something. As I add tracks I noticed that the cpu usage window shows completely in the green while recording but after I stop recording after the 69 seconds, the cpu meter then shows a little red...not while recording but after recording has stopped...is this still considered to be "in the red"? If I continue to add tracks the cpu meter will eventually go into the red prior to recording...So, is the system still recording properly if the meter is in the green while recording? or does the red after recording has stopped indicate that the recording was bad? I'll post my results after I get a reply from this post...I think you might be surprised at what I'm getting from my self built system.

thanks,

Jim
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-01-2003, 09:32 AM
msog msog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 151
Default Re: Davec test shows cpu in red after record only

Ok, but I need more info...the davec test speaks of "cpu in the red". If i bump the audio and aux trks up in count, I will eventually see red...but with cpu in green while recording, I see red after I hit the stop button...so what is the differnce between the two red display scenarios? One shows red while increasing trk count and the other shows red only after recording is stopped.???

Quote:
CPU in the read doesn't mean anything went wrong with the recording."

Quote:
Hey guys,

I'm running the test like instructed and I'm not sure about something. As I add tracks I noticed that the cpu usage window shows completely in the green while recording but after I stop recording after the 69 seconds, the cpu meter then shows a little red...not while recording but after recording has stopped...is this still considered to be "in the red"? If I continue to add tracks the cpu meter will eventually go into the red prior to recording...So, is the system still recording properly if the meter is in the green while recording? or does the red after recording has stopped indicate that the recording was bad? I'll post my results after I get a reply from this post...I think you might be surprised at what I'm getting from my self built system.

thanks,

Jim
__________________
Thanks,

Jim (I used to be alot younger)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
davec test garret 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-21-2005 06:27 AM
What exactly is the DaveC test TheLP 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-16-2004 05:57 PM
Davec Test MR808 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-21-2003 11:54 PM
Davec test, Is everybody doing it the same? bonneybear 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-08-2003 06:30 AM
How Do I Do A Davec Test? YOUNGMOESES 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-14-2002 01:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com