Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-08-2022, 01:59 PM
tronnyjenkins tronnyjenkins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Dallas
Posts: 21
Default Hd Native is giving problems. Ideas?

For some reason, our HD Native card or Avid HD IO has decided to stop working.
We are running High Sierra and Pro Tools 2020.9. I tried reinstalling the drivers but under System Report the Hd Native device says "driver installed- No" I'm not honestly sure if it said yes before, but I would think that makes sense.
I've tried PRAM reset, SMC reset, seating the Native card in another PCI slot, different Digilink cable. I'm at a bit of a loss. The HD IO powers on with the typical flashing amber and green LED then settles on 48khz and "INT". It does not rearrange to our normal settings.


Any help appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-2022, 03:57 PM
protoolsuserman protoolsuserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London
Posts: 508
Default Re: Hd Native is giving problems. Ideas?

Have you tried re installing the hd native driver?

l
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2022, 04:36 PM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,609
Default Re: Hd Native is giving problems. Ideas?

Do you have another AVID interface you can hook up to the HD Native card?
__________________
sdf

www.sugarhillstudios713.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-10-2022, 12:39 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,944
Default Re: Hd Native is giving problems. Ideas?

Have you run DigiTest on both the HD Native card and the HD IO?

best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-12-2022, 07:13 AM
IrelandM IrelandM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Dundonald Northern Ireland
Posts: 155
Default Re: Hd Native is giving problems. Ideas?

Hi PT / Native HD Users,


I have ProTools Ultimate 2022.7 installed on a MacPro that was running well on an older version of MacOSMojave. I then updated to Mojave 10.14.6 along with the 2022.7 software and the newer 2022.7 HD Driver.

My issue is that I cannot get any audio signal coming from ProTools even if I have selected the ProTools | HD Native Thunderbolt Pic card or a PT Aggregate I/O as a sound output device.

What would users recommend I try to resolve this issue is it a ProTools or HD Driver issue do I require an older version of the HD Driver installed to hear audio again via ProTools.

I did try a DigiTest on the HD Native TB interface which passed would users have any further suggestions I could to try.



Regards
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-28-2022, 03:26 PM
Hud Hud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: London
Posts: 51
Default Re: Hd Native is giving problems. Ideas?

I’m sorry I can’t help, but you’re not alone. My HD driver loads and then drops intermittently, around 2-3 times a 2 hour session! It’s driving me crazy and makes Pro Tools unreliable.

I’m running PTU 2022.7 on Monterey 12.6, with HD Native thunderbolt. I have the latest HD driver ver digidal.kext 21.12.0.97
The hardware is connected as system info shows PCI 11af, ef88 installed.

I’ve done a manual load of driver using the avid loader app.
I’ve done the sudo library extensions command in terminal as well, and reboot.

Sometimes the driver loads and while I’m working in PT it randomly unloads and I have to stop working! On acoustic recordings this means I lose the take, which is a cardinal sin.

I have opened a case with support. Thought I’d share.
In poor cheer
H
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2022, 05:59 PM
jeff markham's Avatar
jeff markham jeff markham is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Monterey Bay Area
Posts: 839
Default Re: Hd Native is giving problems. Ideas?

MacOS Monterey has given me a lot of problems. The I/O
freezes up periodically .. has nothing to do with PT .. but it does
affect PT.

I regret going to Monterey.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-29-2022, 05:39 AM
Hud Hud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: London
Posts: 51
Default Re: Hd Native is giving problems. Ideas?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff markham View Post
MacOS Monterey has given me a lot of problems. The I/O
freezes up periodically .. has nothing to do with PT .. but it does
affect PT.

I regret going to Monterey.
Sorry to hear that. Yet it’s one engineering ecosystem. PT and HD Native and MacOS. Though frankly Apple’s OS release schedule is insanely fast and destructive. There’s been no difference to my productivity between snow leopard and Monterey. I don’t even use any of their silly apps, only the PT DAW.

Ok rant over, back to work
Cheers
H
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-30-2022, 11:57 AM
jeff markham's Avatar
jeff markham jeff markham is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Monterey Bay Area
Posts: 839
Default Re: Hd Native is giving problems. Ideas?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hud View Post
Sorry to hear that. Yet it’s one engineering ecosystem. PT and HD Native and MacOS. Though frankly Apple’s OS release schedule is insanely fast and destructive. There’s been no difference to my productivity between snow leopard and Monterey. I don’t even use any of their silly apps, only the PT DAW.

Ok rant over, back to work
Cheers
H
The 2022.9 release seems much better on MacOS Monterey
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! HD Native Thunderbolt giving problems johnnyv Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 03-02-2015 05:09 PM
Bounce to Disk Giving Me Problems jtwinpcola Windows 2 05-06-2013 11:35 AM
New Caviar Black giving problems! pierbranch 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 22 07-21-2010 03:12 PM
Kore Player giving me problems AWinnie Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 03-29-2010 08:37 PM
Pro Tools giving me a lot of problems zaviere 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 02-24-2006 12:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com