Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2014, 03:41 PM
sbaures sbaures is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Nevada City
Posts: 8
Default Eleven Rack Pro Tools 11 template is blank / broken

Just set up my new studio.... New to pro tools, so please bear with me. Bought an eleven rack with pro tools 11. Got everything installed... correctly I think.

When I launch pro tools and try to start with an Eleven Rack template, it opens blank... with options to add tracks or really do anything musically... all the tabs are grayed out. I am fairly certain it should open with at least a few blank tracks open and assigned to the eleven rack output, etc...

I get an error about the playback engine not supporting 44.1k sample rate (the same error in the protools 11 install readme file, although the problem doesn't seem to be the same at all), but I have everything set to 48k, eleven rack clock source set to internal. I don't know if this has anything to do with it, but it is the only "strange" thing going on that I can point to.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-27-2014, 03:52 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,969
Default Re: Eleven Rack Pro Tools 11 template is blank / broken

Instead of a template, just create a Blank session and add the tracks you need.

In my experience, templates are often laid out wrong.
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro | macOS 12
Pro Tools 2022
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-27-2014, 04:00 PM
sbaures sbaures is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Nevada City
Posts: 8
Default Re: Eleven Rack Pro Tools 11 template is blank / broken

Thanks Brian, I appreciate the advice and have verified I can start from a blank project and things seem to work. I am mostly concerned that I have something set up wrong since I'm just starting out with this tool and it isn't working right. I don't want it to bite me later down the road if I can help it. Maybe I'm just being overly concerned but I hate to start down the road with a new tool and start doing workarounds right off the bat withought understanding why I need to.
__________________
Steve

Win 7 Pro 64 bit
i7 Haswell
16G Ram
SSD system drive
separate sample and project drives
protools 11.latest
eleven rack interface for guitar
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-27-2014, 05:34 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,969
Default Re: Eleven Rack Pro Tools 11 template is blank / broken

If you are able to start a session by starting Blank, you are fine. Its the templates that are set wrong.

Many times you will need to default the IO if you use a template.

Using a blank session is not a workaround, the templates are just there to help get you started, after you know how to use Pro Tools I can't imagine why you would ever use a pre-packaged template. Every new session I start is Blank.

What you can do is create your own templates and save them, that way they are setup exactly how you work.
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro | macOS 12
Pro Tools 2022
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-27-2014, 05:53 PM
sbaures sbaures is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Nevada City
Posts: 8
Default Re: Eleven Rack Pro Tools 11 template is blank / broken

That's good to know, and I totally agree. Workaround was a bad choice of words. I doubt once I know the tool I would ever use a template as well. But when starting out, they are helpful to learn my way around. Any ideas why the templates might be broken on a fresh install, first time opening the tool? I didn't change any of the default I/O routings, nor have I hooked up any other interfaces... yet.

Also still wondering why I get the 44.1k sample rate error when NOTHING is set at that rate.
__________________
Steve

Win 7 Pro 64 bit
i7 Haswell
16G Ram
SSD system drive
separate sample and project drives
protools 11.latest
eleven rack interface for guitar
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-27-2014, 06:10 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,969
Default Re: Eleven Rack Pro Tools 11 template is blank / broken

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbaures View Post
That's good to know, and I totally agree. Workaround was a bad choice of words. I doubt once I know the tool I would ever use a template as well. But when starting out, they are helpful to learn my way around. Any ideas why the templates might be broken on a fresh install, first time opening the tool? I didn't change any of the default I/O routings, nor have I hooked up any other interfaces... yet.

Also still wondering why I get the 44.1k sample rate error when NOTHING is set at that rate.
Do you have the Eleven Rack set to be your computer system sound device?

What do you have the sample rate set at using the Eleven Rack Control Panel?
You may need to flip it a couple times before you launch Pro Tools, then once PT is launched it should take over.

Attachment 1543

Make sure you are plugged into a USB 2.0 port

Are all templates broken? What exactly happens when you try to load one?
Can you post a picture of the error or screen?

If you want you can try a re-install of Pro Tools 11.
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro | macOS 12
Pro Tools 2022
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eleven Rack blank window with Pro Tools 10 jamieguitar Eleven Rack 9 07-21-2013 01:02 PM
Blank sections and out of sync amps view in Eleven Rack window in Pro Tools LE 8 dbvoyager Eleven Rack 6 12-02-2012 01:13 AM
Eleven Rack window responds to changes on Eleven Rack, unable to record. pine Eleven Rack 6 08-02-2012 08:50 PM
Eleven Rack and Eleven Rack control window not matching 11R Newbie Eleven Rack 3 04-18-2012 07:07 PM
Eleven Rack & Ground Control Pro Template guitarorth Eleven Rack 2 03-10-2012 02:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com