Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-08-2015, 07:11 AM
Dynamixaled Dynamixaled is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 88
Default CPU errors during online bounce

I'm having ongoing issues with online bounces that Avid TS so far hasn't been able to solve - I'm wondering if anyone else has similar issues.
Ever since installing PT11 last month, online bounces often (about 60% of the time) crash with a 9171 error msg, pointing to "conflicts with other CPU tasks" or "a potential clock issue."

Sometimes after a CPU error, or even (as just happened now) opening a new song, tracks are suddenly seriously out of sync and there's a strong delay between left and right main outs - it's as if someone has inserted a 50-70ms delay in the R ch. Re-boot the Mac and everything's back to "normal."

I have to say tech support has been terrific trying to source this out, but so far no luck... they have commandeered my computer 3 times to try to find the issue - we have trashed prefs, repaired Mac prefs, maxed out HW buffer size, turned off a few background processes on the mac, tried a different User account, worked with sessions from various HD's - and i've gone through all plugins and pulled them out in groups - none of which has worked.

Offline bounces work fine so we can get things done, but I find listening during bounces to be very important. Avid says my experience is quite rare - athough they seem to think something in the background is conflicting with PT11. Anyone have similar issues? Comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated.
__________________
HDX
PT 12.6
Mac Pro 6-core, 3.33
OS 10.11.4
Apogee 800
Aurora 16

Last edited by Dynamixaled; 02-08-2015 at 07:39 AM. Reason: new info
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-2015, 07:22 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,532
Default Re: CPU errors during online bounce

Instead of doing an online bounce have you tried just recording everything to a new audio track? Since online bounce is real time anyway why not give this a try? I do it this way simply because I don't trust online bounce to give me what I want and where I want it. Then again I don't generate mp3's or such that are possible with bounce functions.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2015, 07:29 AM
Dynamixaled Dynamixaled is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 88
Default Re: CPU errors during online bounce

Thanks - yes, that works for some things but i use online bounces in a variety of way - mp3, 44.1, pre-master tracks etc.
__________________
HDX
PT 12.6
Mac Pro 6-core, 3.33
OS 10.11.4
Apogee 800
Aurora 16
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-08-2015, 07:50 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,532
Default Re: CPU errors during online bounce

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dynamixaled View Post
Thanks - yes, that works for some things but i use online bounces in a variety of way - mp3, 44.1, pre-master tracks etc.
Like I said the only thing missing from my way is creating mp3's but other than that - no problem. You could create an mp3 externally with any audio editor. At least it would allow you to get your work done.Sometimes you just have to work around program issues in different ways.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-2015, 10:58 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,621
Default Re: CPU errors during online bounce

IIRC you can also Export the RTD files as an MP3.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-08-2015, 12:05 PM
Dynamixaled Dynamixaled is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 88
Default Re: CPU errors during online bounce

Thanks - but i was hoping to find out if anyone can suggest a reason that this stuff is happening - surely i can't have the only rig in the world to have experiencied this.... and the sync weirdness sometimes happens out of the blue.
__________________
HDX
PT 12.6
Mac Pro 6-core, 3.33
OS 10.11.4
Apogee 800
Aurora 16
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Errors on Bounce down sdfalk66 macOS 10 05-19-2011 05:15 PM
more -9129 errors during bounce to disk dlae 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 03-25-2005 10:40 AM
Bounce errors Bonez 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-06-2004 08:22 AM
Bounce to Disk Errors! Help! SteveU 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 10-28-2003 04:18 PM
firewire bounce to disc errors greywoodst Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 01-10-2003 10:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com