Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-24-2006, 09:23 AM

Default Should I sell my G5 quad?

this post isn't meant to be whining or complaining...anyone who's been on here long enough is sick of all the silly complaints that go on ( although some are valid.) I'm a music composer who's basically frustruated with RTAS performance in PT LE. When I see how well Ivory piano module runs, I know it's possible. I run alot of soft samplers at lower buffer settings, which is the RTAS issue

I know I got myself into an unstable work situation by purchasing an unqualified computer. However, it will be almost 4 months now of CPU spikes and I really might be ready to throw in the towel with Digi and Native Instruments.

Native Instruments...Kontakt 2...god help us...I will not buy from them anymore...

This is really just a question to bounce off of other quad users running PT 7.0

Hardly any of my plug-in companies have optomized for PT 7, and there are no updates in sight.
(altiverb 5, sony bundle, izotope, trash...)

Anybody with a constructive opinion, please chime in...

Is anybody having great results with Logic Pro on their quad?

I really wonder with Digi probably having to scramble for intel codes, that maybe this is just a bad time for incompatibility due to lack of resources at these companies. Perhaps the quad is never supported?

pardon my rambling...

-CV
Old 03-24-2006, 09:52 AM

Default Re: Should I sell my G5 quad?

I'm facing a somewhat similar dilemma.

Although I'm able to make it though a project fine on this machine (not without complications of course)...I'm paying for more machine than I'm using.