Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2009, 11:01 PM
AidenV AidenV is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 3
Default New PC install trouble

Gday Guys,
Been working on this for a good 3 days now. And at last resort. Im trying to learn everything as i go. But getting no where so far...

Ive gone through the faq's and done changes etc.

Its a brand new PC (I was on a mac g5), So PT 8 is 1st version for the computer. I did my research on compatability. I thought i was all good. Im having trouble getting the pc to recognize the the PCI cards.

I installed PT8 the 1st time and it went through fine. Then it just wouldnt read the cards. Allot of driver signing kept coming up, and i had allot of 'multimedia devices' in the sound, video, game controller hardware list (with yellow exclamation marks) allong with HD core card, accel card etc etc.

I tried unistalling and then installing again. Now it wont even install and keeps resetting to blue error screen saying "DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL"

With the cards in aswell my internet usb stick doesnt read.

its a HD 2 PCI system.

I hope i havent missed anything simple. If any one has any help of advice that would be much appreciated.

*** SYSTEM ***
> Mainboard : Gigabyte EP45-UD3L
> Chipset : Intel P45/P43
> Processor : Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 2833 MHz
> Physical Memory : 4096 MB (2 x 2048 DDR2-SDRAM )
> Video Card : NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT
> Hard Disk : ST31000528AS (1000 GB)
> Hard Disk : ST3500418AS (500 GB)
> CD-Rom Drive : HUAWEI Mass Storage USB Device
> DVD-Rom Drive : TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S223B
> Monitor Type : AOC International LM925 - 19 inches
> Network Card : RTL8168/8111 PCIe Gigabit Ethernet Adapter
> Operating System : Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.01.2600 Service Pack 2
> DirectX : Version 9.0c (September 2009)

***MAINBOARD
Manufacturer : Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
Mainboard : Gigabyte EP45-UD3L
Bios : Award Software International, Inc.
Chipset : Intel P45/P43
Physical Memory : 4096 MB DDR2-SDRAM
LPC bus : Yes
PCI Bus : Yes
Bus PCI-Express : Yes
USB Bus : Yes
SMBus/i2c Bus : Yes
Bus HyperTransport : No
Bus QPI : No
Bus CardBus : No
Bus FireWire : No

***MULTIMEDIA
Device Audio : 82801J (ICH10) HD Audio Controller
Device Audio : 82801J (ICH10) HD Audio Controller
Audio Playback : Realtek HD Audio output
Audio Playback : Microsoft Sound Mapper
Audio Recording : Realtek HD Audio Input
Audio Recording : Realtek HD Digital input
MIDI Output : Microsoft GS Wavetable SW Synth
MIDI Output : Microsoft MIDI Mapper
Mixer Device : Realtek HD Audio output
Mixer Device : Realtek HD Digital input
Mixer Device : Realtek HD Audio Input
Device multimedia : AVIVideo
Device multimedia : CDAudio
Device multimedia : Sequencer
Device multimedia : WaveAudio
Device multimedia : MPEGVideo
Audio Compression : Microsoft IMA ADPCM CODEC
Audio Compression : Microsoft ADPCM CODEC
Audio Compression : Microsoft CCITT G.711 A-Law and u-Law CODEC
Audio Compression : Microsoft GSM 6.10 Audio CODEC
Audio Compression : DSP Group TrueSpeech(TM) Software CODEC
Audio Compression : Microsoft G.723.1 CODEC
Audio Compression : Windows Media Audio
Audio Compression : Sipro Lab Telecom ACELP.net audio codec
Audio Compression : Indeo® audio software
Audio Compression : Fraunhofer IIS MPEG Layer-3 Codec (advanced)
Audio Compression : AC-3 ACM Codec
Audio Compression : Microsoft PCM Converter
Video Compression : Cinepak Codec by Radius
Video Compression : Intel 4:2:0 Video V2.50
Video Compression : Intel Indeo(R) Video R3.2
Video Compression : Intel Indeo(R) Video R3.2
Video Compression : Intel Indeo® Video 4.5
Video Compression : Intel IYUV codec
Video Compression : Microsoft RLE
Video Compression : Microsoft Video 1
Video Compression : Microsoft YUV
Video Compression : Microsoft YUV
Video Compression : Toshiba YUV Codec
Video Compression : Microsoft YUV
Video Compression : Microsoft H.263 Video Codec
Video Compression : Microsoft H.261 Video Codec
Video Compression : Indeo® video 5.10
Video Compression : XviD MPEG-4 Codec
Video Compression : Microsoft Windows Media Video 9
Video Compression : ffdshow Video Codec
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-14-2009, 08:50 PM
x9blade x9blade is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 1,399
Default Re: New PC install trouble

have you tried popping out the cards and reseating them?
also, what PSU are you using?
__________________
3930K I7,X79 asus,GTX780,Samsung SSDx2,Western Digital Black 2TB HDDx4
32 Gb Corsair ram,30"Apple Cinema Screen,HD NATIVE
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-15-2009, 08:31 AM
lifer lifer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Manchester U.K.
Posts: 330
Default Re: New PC install trouble

Make sure you definately have the core card in pci slot 1..its often easy to get them the wrong way round on a pc mobo...
__________________
Win 7 Pro 64
PT 10 HD, HD4 Accel
Jetway JNAF92-Q67
Intel 2700k 3.8ghz
16GB Crucial Ram
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-15-2009, 06:00 PM
AidenV AidenV is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 3
Default Re: New PC install trouble

Quote:
Originally Posted by x9blade View Post
have you tried popping out the cards and reseating them?
also, what PSU are you using?
Using coolermaster 550. Which i will be changing soon as its frickin loud.

I had already pulled the cards in and out 3 or 4 times...

Weirdly enough i got pro tools installed. I disconnected the hardware. Installed pt. then connected the hardware and repair installed pt again...

All the drivers loaded fine and installed all good. Im abit worried though as it was a bit dodgy. But it all seems to be running fine atm. I havent done any large tracking yet so will have to wait and see..


I took the cards straight out of the G5 and put them straight into the PC.

Slot 1 - Accel
Slot 2 - Core
Slot 3 -
Slot 4 -
Slot 5 - Graphics

This is how they were in the G5 aswell... I brought the G5 and HD2 already assembled so didnt do the install on that
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-16-2009, 06:16 AM
x9blade x9blade is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 1,399
Default Re: New PC install trouble

i had many problems in the begining on my hd pc build. it turned out to be a bad powersupply on my machine. i wound up with a pc power and cooling 720 w. good luck
__________________
3930K I7,X79 asus,GTX780,Samsung SSDx2,Western Digital Black 2TB HDDx4
32 Gb Corsair ram,30"Apple Cinema Screen,HD NATIVE
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-07-2009, 10:09 AM
JamesV JamesV is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 324
Default Re: New PC install trouble

Quote:
Originally Posted by AidenV View Post
Using coolermaster 550. Which i will be changing soon as its frickin loud.

I had already pulled the cards in and out 3 or 4 times...

Weirdly enough i got pro tools installed. I disconnected the hardware. Installed pt. then connected the hardware and repair installed pt again...

All the drivers loaded fine and installed all good. Im abit worried though as it was a bit dodgy. But it all seems to be running fine atm. I havent done any large tracking yet so will have to wait and see..


I took the cards straight out of the G5 and put them straight into the PC.

Slot 1 - Accel
Slot 2 - Core
Slot 3 -
Slot 4 -
Slot 5 - Graphics

This is how they were in the G5 aswell... I brought the G5 and HD2 already assembled so didnt do the install on that
What case are you using? Currently assembling HD2 PC with Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R and would prefer no obstruction.
__________________
Digi002R PT6.7 SP1 K8Vdx AMD643200 GeilPC32001G HitSATA80GB(sys) 2xSATA160GB GlyphXFW NEC2500DVDRW Sapph9600ProU SonyP234LCD AntecSonata Zalman7000Al
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
install trouble. please help anemicrock Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 09-25-2006 02:02 AM
Mbox Install trouble Martin Vipond 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-17-2006 10:50 AM
Windows trouble and install Ricochet 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-22-2005 06:17 AM
002/5.3.2 install trouble djpomello 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 01-29-2003 12:37 AM
Install trouble- Please Help naren Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 12-17-2000 09:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com