Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Old 08-01-2014, 11:16 AM

Default Help Needed - restoring tracks

I have a session where I apparently failed to save the session after recording a vocal track with a number of punch-ins. I have all of the vocal clips which I can import, but I have lost the time reference for where each clip belongs (Together they should all compile just one vocal track).

I have a "master take" which ends about halfway through. then I have about 8 punch-ins. I can see how long they are in the "import audio" box, and I can hear them as individual tracks. But when I import them they all start at 0:00, and I do not know a way to automatically put them back into the session at the time regions where they were originally recorded and belong.

I would think and hope ProTools knows where in the song each clip belongs, but I do not see that information anyplace.

Is there a way to reconstruct this complete vocal track, with punch-ins, without having to do it by ear?

Thank you for any help.
Old 08-01-2014, 01:04 PM

Default Re: Help Needed - restoring tracks

Hopefully, you have auto backup on. go into the directory where your session file is stored. There should be a folder called Session File Backups. Try to remember the time when you were making your last edits. If you've been working for a long time trying to revive your session. That gets backed up too. You need to select the file and use view details on Windows so it lists the exact time when the file was created. On a mac, just select with the default multipanel or right click and use Quick look for the info. Good Luck.
Apogee Mini-Me firewire.
Old 08-01-2014, 01:55 PM