Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-25-2020, 11:59 AM
Kajun Kelley Kajun Kelley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Annapolis, Maryland
Posts: 2
Default ProTools upgrade options with Digi 003+ Rack

I currently have Pro Tools LE 8.0.4 running on Windows 7 using a Digidesign 003+ Rack.

I recently downloaded Superior Drummer 3 onto my computer, but unfortunately wasn't aware that it's 64 bit and since PT 8 is 32 bit, I can't run SD3 as a plugin in PT and therefore need to upgrade to at least PT 11 for 64 bit.

I have many questions:

- Is an upgrade from PT8 to a 64 bit version of ProTools that will run on Windows 7 possible? I'm good with this option even if there is additional costs involved.

- If I have no choice but to purchase the latest version of Pro Tools (I'm aware that I would also need to update my OS to Windows 10) will my Digidesign 003+ Rack still work as an interface?

- Will the plugins I'm currently using with PT-8 still work with a 64 bit version?

Please advise me as to my options. I'm trying to determine my best course of action.

Thank you so much!

Kajun
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2020, 01:11 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,390
Default Re: ProTools upgrade options with Digi 003+ Rack

I was running Pro Tools 11 on Windows 7 back in the day. Your 003 will function.

You will need to upgrade all of your plug-ins to AAX. Some will be a no charge upgrade, some will not, depending on the developer.

AND... I have moved this thread to the Windows Legacy forum.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-07-2021, 11:44 AM
APM APM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London
Posts: 8
Default Re: ProTools upgrade options with Digi 003+ Rack

I can confirm that the 003 console works fine on PT 2021.6.0 on W10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-07-2021, 03:28 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,175
Default Re: ProTools upgrade options with Digi 003+ Rack

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kajun Kelley View Post
Is an upgrade from PT8 to a 64 bit version of ProTools that will run on Windows 7 possible?
Acording to this chart https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...tibility-Chart the latest PTools version for Win7 was 12.8.3. I suppose you could try that.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i9-11900K / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / 64GB DDR4 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i7 / HP ProBook / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools upgrade options with Digi 003+ Rack Kajun Kelley Pro Tools 12 17 04-10-2020 07:21 PM
digi 002 rack with windows 7/64 options? timjustindodd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 10-26-2014 05:15 PM
002 Rack w/LE 8.. upgrade options? darkgoob 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-16-2013 04:59 PM
Upgrade Path from Digi 002 Rack to Digi 003+ bilco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-26-2008 04:28 PM
Hardware IO options on Digi 002 Rack Todd H 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-02-2007 10:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com