Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-02-2009, 12:00 PM
ginsuthaironchef ginsuthaironchef is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default Newb install question: Install seems to complete and than freezes

Hello,

I installed PTLE 7.3 and the 7.3.1 updater on my pc last year. I had some pc problems and took the pc back to the guy I bought it from. I'm running at 3.4 ghz.

So now I have the pc up and running again, and I tried to re-install PTLE 7.3.

The install process looks like it is going great, the status bar finishes...but then it just stays there and will not move. I now have protools in my program files and the shortcuts on my desk top and start menu. But when I try and open PTLE nothing happens. Infact after I double click and nothing happens, I can also no longer open any other programs like Explorer or itunes. My computer doesn't freeze, it just won't allow me to open any thing.

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-02-2009, 12:02 PM
sw rec sw rec is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,873
Default Re: Newb install question: Install seems to complete and than freezes

Sounds like the dreaded "Don't use Internet Explorer 8" bug.......
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-02-2009, 12:07 PM
ginsuthaironchef ginsuthaironchef is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Newb install question: Install seems to complete and than freezes

Man, this forum replies quick!

I already have firefox any ways. I am uninstalling explorer 8 and ptle, and will try to reinstall fresh after that.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-02-2009, 04:39 PM
ginsuthaironchef ginsuthaironchef is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Newb install question: Install seems to complete and than freezes

Ok....

So in order to uninstall internet explorer 8, I had to uninstall service pack 3. So I have now:

1. Uninstalled Service Pack 3
2. Uninstalled IE8
3. Reinstalled Service Pack 3....

Now when windows is acting funny. If I click and drag anything on my desktop its slow and choppy. Also, if I scroll up or down in Firefox or internet explorer 7 its slow and choppy.

Any suggestions?

I'm now weary of installing PTLE because windows is acting up.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is PT 11.1.2 a complete install K Roche Pro Tools 11 2 01-25-2014 05:29 PM
Problems with a complete re-install of PT LE 8 Larz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-05-2012 03:16 AM
Can´t complete install jandue Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 04-24-2011 11:47 AM
Newb PT8 install question turkeyloaf 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-05-2009 01:06 PM
newb - how to install amplitube mbox2mini patpark 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 12-23-2006 09:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com