Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2008, 12:56 AM
jasonzac jasonzac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 12
Default Recording Problem with countoff and wait for note

Hey guys ,

I just wanted some help with the following 2 problems :

(1) When I record MIDI using " Wait for note " with the click enabled , I hear the click track with the tempo of the Manual tempo . When recording begins , I then start recording with the Conductor tempo . This is obviously inconvenient as I need to hear the click track at the right tempo . Is this a Pro Tools problem or is there a work-around ???

(2) When I use the "Click countoff" for recording MIDI , it always skips a few notes ( probably the first beat ) . So if I am recording 4 bars and then making a loop , the first beat is always absent . It wasn't even recorded !!! I have resorted to using Quick Punch mode with a pre-roll . But this wont work at the beginning of a track. Am i doing something wrong here ??

PLS HELP

Thanks in advance ,

Jason
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-30-2008, 06:04 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default

(1) I've never noticed this. Are you sure you have the tempo map enabled?

(2) I suggest that you keep the first couple of bars empty for "sync/pre-roll time". I use bar 3 as my song start point, or bar 10 if the client freaks out.

__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-15-2009, 12:25 PM
Tamlin Tamlin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 8
Default Re: Recording Problem with countoff and wait for note

What is Wait for Note, and how do I get out of it? I just got my 003 and I'm fumbling around. When I select "transport online" from the Options pulldown menu, I get a message that says "Pro Tools can not be brought online while in Wait for Note mode. I'm also getting a readout on my 003 when I first open Pro Tools that says "Pro Tools has a dialog on screen". I don't know what I've done or how to get out of it. I'm trying to get back to simply learning how to lay down my first track.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2009, 01:47 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Recording Problem with countoff and wait for note

The wait for note button on the transport is just to the left of the metronome button. You can also turn it on and off using f11 (if you have that enabled in the preferences). Look up "wait for note" in the reference guide to learn what it does..

Why are you putting ProTools online? If you are just putting down your first track, then I suspect you don't have things setup in a way that requires protools to be online.. Again, look up "Putting Pro Tools Online" in the reference.. Pardon me if I am underestimating you setup...

Dialog on Screen shows up if a dialog window is open in ProTools, like the preferences window... Are you saying that it shows that message even though no Dialog is open on screen?
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Wait 4 note --HELP-- Motif XS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 11-27-2007 10:18 PM
Midi Wait For Note Recording/access violation using markers dnkygirl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 03-26-2007 04:43 PM
"wait for note" misses first note? eric105 MIDI 8 12-19-2006 04:39 PM
"wait for note" misses first note? eric105 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-04-2006 10:57 PM
wait note Chris Lambrechts ICON & C|24 2 11-22-2004 04:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com