Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 05-27-2010, 11:01 AM

Default Questions about ProTools and film scoring

Hi there,

I am a filmmaker/animator/artist (and a bit of a musician).

For an upcoming short film project that I am planning to make, I am considering what to use to make the score. Years ago, I had messed around with Cubase (I think it was SE or something). However, now that I am gearing up for this project, I need to purchase an up to date tool to work with.

I was reading about Cubase 5 and saw that it allows the importing of a video track. I am now starting to do some research on Pro-Tools. I know that for high end studio work, Pro Tools is more of a standard, so I would like to start out right. And I am leaning towards Pro Tools for sure.

My question is, how does Pro Tools handle film scoring? Are there good tool sets for that kind of work? What is your feeling on Pro Tools versus Cubase? Finally, what version of Pro Tools do you recommend for this work and is there any hardware I should also consider.

Thanks for your input!

By the way, the storyboards for the film I am making are on YouTube if you want to check them out. It's about a man who struggles to find the unified field theory, (the "theory of everything"). As a matter of fact, I entered them into a contest on YouTube where I would receive some resources to help make the film if I win. The only thing is that people need to "Thumbs Up" my video by clicking the Thumbs Up button. If you decide to check them out, please click the Thumbs Up button while you're there. Thanks!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YT1yOPu5F9A
Old 05-27-2010, 11:19 AM

Default Re: Questions about ProTools and film scoring

Quote: