Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-24-2021, 08:51 PM
Maree_C Maree_C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 2
Default Is Pro Tools Right for me?

I have downloaded Ableton and now Pro Tools First and still unsure if I have the right product. I have an upright piano and simply want to record myself playing and singing.

I have done a few Pro Tools tutorials and it looks like it is perfect for someone who wants to create music but quite complicated for someone like me who just wants to record something. I would also like to import a backing track and record myself singing to that.

Could someone please give me some advice. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-25-2021, 12:52 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,141
Default Re: Is Pro Tools Right for me?

Hi, welcome to the community.

PT | First is good for everything you want to do. Just watch some youtube tutorials on how to set up your session, and how to import audio. Once you have set it up, Save Copy In and use that backup for your next song. It is all pretty straightforward.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-26-2021, 08:24 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,165
Default Re: Is Pro Tools Right for me?

Agreed, PT is probably a great choice for recording you and an instrument. Ableton is more for triggering loops and making beats, and is much better than PT for backing tracks in live performance.

Back to PT for a moment, there are a few important details to learn ASAP:
#1-create a "session" instead of a "project". Sessions are on your hard drive. Projects are(usually) in the cloud and you want your audio files on your own drive(backup to the cloud is fine)
#2-latency(delay or echo) when recording is caused by a few things; Playback buffer(set this low like 64 or 128 for tracking) and certain plugins(learn which have lots of latency and don't use those until its time to mix)
#3-tutorials are great and you should take advantage as needed. Youtube can be awesome, or lame(but its free). Groove3 is consistently great(but its not free). Sometimes you get what you pay for
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-2021, 02:49 PM
Basslice Basslice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Western Mass
Posts: 7
Default Re: Is Pro Tools Right for me?

I love working in PT, but for you, I would recommend a simple Zoom recorder. www.zoomrecorder.com. You could go down the DAW rabbit hole, but why?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-04-2021, 06:23 PM
Maree_C Maree_C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 2
Default Re: Is Pro Tools Right for me?

Hi Basslice, I have explored with BandLab and was able to record myself singing over a backing track. But I have a latency problem. Any suggestions for improvement.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-05-2021, 08:43 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,165
Default Re: Is Pro Tools Right for me?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maree_C View Post
Hi Basslice, I have explored with BandLab and was able to record myself singing over a backing track. But I have a latency problem. Any suggestions for improvement.
All DAW's will have some kind of buffer setting. In Pro Tools, its called the playback buffer and it has several choices(64, 128, 256, 512, etc). These correspond to how many samples that the cpu is allowed for processing audio, so the lower numbers give less time(=lower latency) and higher settings give the cpu more time(=higher latency). Find that setting and lower it to lower the latency
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-07-2021, 10:44 AM
Treelady Treelady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 3
Default Re: Is Pro Tools Right for me?

d
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Pro Tools HD 8 + Pro Tools HD 9 + Pro Tools 9 Bundle iLOK license Delta Music Belgium Buy & Sell 1 02-27-2019 03:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com