Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-10-2021, 12:29 PM
thewritetime35 thewritetime35 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4
Default How can I remove background noise?

I have a case pending against my former employer. As evidence, I have an audio recording on my cell phone that I uploaded to my Protools. Since I had to keep my phone in my pocket, there's a lot of distorted background noise that is drowning out the vocals that I need. If you listen closley you can make out what's being said, but I need it to be as clear as possible. Is there a way to remove the background noise, or maybe turn it down? I have Protools version 2021.6.0 on my 8g Hp laptop
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-10-2021, 12:38 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,382
Default Re: How can I remove background noise?

There are a number of noise reduction plugins available. Do a Google search and download a few demos.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-10-2021, 12:46 PM
dominicperry dominicperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 197
Default Re: How can I remove background noise?

There are lots - but don't miss Izotope. Expensive but with a good reputation.

You probably don't really need the files to be in ProTools to process them - although there's no harm in it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-2021, 12:56 PM
thewritetime35 thewritetime35 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4
Default Re: How can I remove background noise?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
There are a number of noise reduction plugins available. Do a Google search and download a few demos.
Thanks for the tip! I really do appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-2021, 12:57 PM
thewritetime35 thewritetime35 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4
Default Re: How can I remove background noise?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominicperry View Post
There are lots - but don't miss Izotope. Expensive but with a good reputation.

You probably don't really need the files to be in ProTools to process them - although there's no harm in it.
Thank you so much! Your feedback is greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-10-2021, 03:12 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,855
Default Re: How can I remove background noise?

BNR (Broadband Noise Reduction) was a very effective Pro Tools Audio Suite processor, but I don’t think it survived much past PT 10.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-10-2021, 03:23 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,105
Default Re: How can I remove background noise?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominicperry View Post
There are lots - but don't miss Izotope. Expensive but with a good reputation.

You probably don't really need the files to be in ProTools to process them - although there's no harm in it.
Yep. Izotope RX. They have a free trial I think.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i9-11900K / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / 64GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i7 / HP ProBook / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-10-2021, 04:05 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: How can I remove background noise?

The thing you have to be aware of is that your former employer's lawyer is going to argue that you digitally altered the file to your advantage, which is usually impossible or at least very hard to disprove.

You may even run into, depending on the jurisdiction, laws that do not allow you to record a person without telling them and getting their consent.

Good luck with your case.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-10-2021, 04:16 PM
falcowe's Avatar
falcowe falcowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Nashville, TN - USA
Posts: 110
Default Re: How can I remove background noise?

+1 for iZotope RX. Great piece of software for all of your audio cleanup needs.
__________________
MacPro 7,1 (sigh) 16-core, 128GB ram, W5700X GPU, RME UFX+, PT 2021.7U.
Artist Mix, S1, and PT|Dock.
And too many VIs and VEPro machines.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-10-2021, 05:42 PM
thewritetime35 thewritetime35 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4
Default Re: How can I remove background noise?

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
The thing you have to be aware of is that your former employer's lawyer is going to argue that you digitally altered the file to your advantage, which is usually impossible or at least very hard to disprove.

You may even run into, depending on the jurisdiction, laws that do not allow you to record a person without telling them and getting their consent.

Good luck with your case.
Dually noted. Thank you so much!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to remove outdoor background noise with EQ3 ProToolsBuster523 Pro Tools 11 8 05-02-2016 04:46 AM
Can anyone remove background noise from recorded voice conversation? devsel General Discussion 3 05-20-2014 04:34 AM
Recording outside best way to remove background noises..horn staronejazz Tips & Tricks 4 10-22-2007 12:43 PM
Need to remove background noise Gothboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-09-2007 10:59 AM
Background noise paguru VENUE Live Sound Systems 10 03-20-2007 05:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com