Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Old 08-10-2021, 11:45 AM

Default 2 versions of same song - recommendations

I want to create a single version and an extended version of the same underlying music. I've finished up the extended version. For the single version I'm not doing anything fancy, just selecting out sections from the extended version.

Looking for recommendations on best practices. I've done due diligence trying to find a solution but haven't seen anything. Maybe I don't have the correct search terms - still a bit of a novice here.

If it matters, the extended is roughly 6' 30" and the single will be a bit over 3'.
Old 08-10-2021, 01:11 PM

Default Re: 2 versions of same song - recommendations

Just use the Save As option to save the "other" version. IOW, if the long one is saved as the same session name that you have had all along, when you shorten the song, Save As "song name single" or whatever makes the most sense to you. I save multiple versions of most every session I do. Since the first mix is rarely the "keeper", my mixes each get saved like this:
"Song Name Mix 1"
"Song Name Mix 2"
"Song Name Mix 3'
"Song Name Mix 4'
Sometimes, they get more specific, like
"Song Name Vocal Up"
When I get too many versions listed, I move older session files to the backups folder(where PT saves its auto-saved versions), or I add a new folder(inside the main session folder) named "Older mixes". BTW, I don't actually use the "" marks(those are just to help describe the action of naming things)

The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Old 08-10-2021, 02:47 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by eheilner View Post