Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-09-2013, 09:11 PM
vcoad vcoad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 1
Default Protools 9.0.6 'static on playback' & no PT Headphone playback

Hi folks,
Any advice very much appreciated re the following 2 issues please :)
The computer has been custom built with Protools 9 recommendations taken into consideration in its construction. Although I basically handed the company (who put it together) all the AVID links and hints and recommendations and then just added what size machine I wanted, so I am sincerely hoping all specifications required for PT are as it should be.

I then installed PT 9 on the computer and upgraded it to PT 9.0.6

I have a PC Windows 7.
I have done the Optimisation recommendations.

I have a Focusrise Saffire PRO 40 interface.
I have the latest drivers for that.

It is Firewire connected to the computer.

My problem is:
When I playback a recorded track or the 'Protools Demo Track' there is a 'static' sound randomly through the track. By 'randomly' I mean I could play the track several times and it would be in different spots.
If I bounce the track down to mp3 then play the track back through the same computer there is still random static on the playback via the computer....
However if I play the track on a separate computer there is no static on the playback from the bounced down mp3 track.
That's one issue:

Number 2 issue:
With playback from the Protools, I can use the Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 interface to get audio to playback from PT to my monitor speakers. So that is with the PT engine setting on Saffire, but I don't get any headphone send for monitoring from the computer via PT.

If I change the PT engine settings to the computer sound card, (and I recently downloaded a generic one ASIO4ALL v2 to get PT to open at all on the computer when not connected via the interface engine) ....although I can play a cd eg., in the computer I am using and hear it in the headphones..... I can't hear playback from PT if it is playing a song in the headphone send on the computer.
What would be the issue there?

Other things I have done:
I have Screen prints of all the PT settings.....if anyone would like to see them, re the possibility of a setting not being correct. I maybe able to post them here I don't know.

Otherwise, I have done some recording with PT and I love it!!!!!!!!! ....but the above issues mean something must be awry somewhere.... if anyone can throw some light on what could be the problem/s that would be absolutely fantastic!!!!!! :)))

I have added a 'Sandra' report of the computer below.

Many thanks
VC
--------------

Computer Overview.

Model : MSI MS-7757
Serial Number : To be fille***********
Chassis : MSI Desktop
Mainboard : MSI Z77A-GD80 (MS-7757)
Serial Number : To be fille***********
BIOS : AMI (OEM) V1.4 12/17/2012
Intel vPro : 8.00.10.1464
Total Memory : 16GB DIMM DDR3

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50GHz (4C 8T 4.2GHz, 4.2GHz IMC, 4x 256kB L2, 8MB L3)
Socket/Slot : FC LGA1155

Chipset
Memory Controller : MSI Core (Ivy Bridge) DRAM Controller 100MHz, 2x 16GB DIMM DDR3 1.6GHz 128-bit

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : A-Data DDR3 1600G 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : A-Data DDR3 1600G 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : A-Data DDR3 1600G 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : A-Data DDR3 1600G 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : BNQ BenQ G2450H
(1920x1080, 24.0")
Video Adapter : 2x NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti (7CU 1344SP SM5.0 1GHz/1.23GHz, 384kB L2, 2GB 6GHz 192-bit, PCIe 3.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti (1344SP 7C 1GHz/1.23GHz, 384kB L2, 2GB 6GHz 192-bit)
OpenCL GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti (1344SP 7C 1GHz/1.23GHz, 384kB L2, 2GB 6GHz 192-bit)
Compute Shader Processor : 2x NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti (1344SP 1GHz/1.23GHz, 384kB L2, 2GB 6GHz 192-bit)
CUDA GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti (1344SP 7C 1GHz/1.23GHz, 384kB L2, 2GB 6GHz 192-bit)
CUDA GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti (1344SP 7C 1GHz/1.23GHz, 384kB L2, 2GB 6GHz 192-bit)

Storage Devices
KINGSTON SV300S37A120G (120GB, SATA600, SSD) : 112GB (C:)
Hitachi HDS721010DLE630 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm, 23MB Cache) : 932GB (D:)
Hitachi HDS721010DLE630 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm, 23MB Cache) : 932GB (E:)
Generic USB SD Reader (USB2) : N/A (H:)
Generic USB CF Reader (USB2) : N/A (I:)
Generic USB xD/SM Reader (USB2) : N/A (J:)
Generic USB MS Reader (USB2) : N/A (K:)
HL-DT-STDVDRAM GH24NS90 (SATA, DVD+-RW, CD-RW) : N/A (F:)
HL-DT-STDVDRAM GH24NS90 (SATA, DVD+-RW, CD-RW) : N/A (G:)

Logical Storage Devices
OS_Install (C:) : 102GB (NTFS) @ KINGSTON SV300S37A120G (120GB, SATA600, SSD)
Data (D:) : 932GB (NTFS) @ Hitachi HDS721010DLE630 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm, 23MB Cache)
Data (E:) : 932GB (NTFS) @ Hitachi HDS721010DLE630 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm, 23MB Cache)
Removable Drive (H:) : N/A @ Generic USB SD Reader (USB2)
Removable Drive (I:) : N/A @ Generic USB CF Reader (USB2)
Removable Drive (J:) : N/A @ Generic USB xD/SM Reader (USB2)
Removable Drive (K:) : N/A @ Generic USB MS Reader (USB2)
Optical Drive (F:) : N/A @ HL-DT-STDVDRAM GH24NS90 (SATA, DVD+-RW, CD-RW)
Optical Drive (G:) : N/A @ HL-DT-STDVDRAM GH24NS90 (SATA, DVD+-RW, CD-RW)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : MSI Panther Point LPC Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : T0 10-05
Audio Device : MSI Panther Point High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Device : MSI GK104 HDMI Audio Controller
Audio Codec : nVidia GeForce 6800 Ultra [NV40.0]
Disk Controller : MSI Panther Point 6 port SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller : MSI Asmedia 106x SATA Controller
USB Controller 1 : MSI Panther Point USB xHCI Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : MSI Panther Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #2
USB Controller 3 : MSI Panther Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #1
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : 22785 FW643 PCI Express1394b Controller (PHY/Link)
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Peripherals

Network Services
Network Adapter : Intel(R) 82579V Gigabit Network Connection (Ethernet)
Wireless Adapter : Atheros AR9287 Wireless Network Adapter #2

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Home 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 7.8
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2013, 04:09 PM
Katherine_Focusrite's Avatar
Katherine_Focusrite Katherine_Focusrite is offline
Focusrite
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 159
Default Re: Protools 9.0.6 'static on playback' & no PT Headphone playback

Quote:
My problem is:
When I playback a recorded track or the 'Protools Demo Track' there is a 'static' sound randomly through the track. By 'randomly' I mean I could play the track several times and it would be in different spots.
If I bounce the track down to mp3 then play the track back through the same computer there is still random static on the playback via the computer....
However if I play the track on a separate computer there is no static on the playback from the bounced down mp3 track.
This could be a number of different things. I would first make sure you are using balanced cables to connect your speakers to your Saffire Pro 40. Unbalanced cables could account for this static. If this is a software issue we would be glad to help you further via our tech support page:
http://us.focusrite.com/contact-support

Quote:
Number 2 issue:
With playback from the Protools, I can use the Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 interface to get audio to playback from PT to my monitor speakers. So that is with the PT engine setting on Saffire, but I don't get any headphone send for monitoring from the computer via PT.

If I change the PT engine settings to the computer sound card, (and I recently downloaded a generic one ASIO4ALL v2 to get PT to open at all on the computer when not connected via the interface engine) ....although I can play a cd eg., in the computer I am using and hear it in the headphones..... I can't hear playback from PT if it is playing a song in the headphone send on the computer.
If you are able to get audio out of your Monitor Speakers you should be able to get audio out of your headphones by connecting them to the Headphone plugs on the front of the Saffire Pro 40. If these are silent you should check the Monitor Section of your Saffire MixControl to make sure the Monitor Control Enable Buttons 7-10 are grey and not blue or red. This will enable them to be controlled fully by the Volume Knobs above the Headphone Outputs. This is further explained on page 19 of the Saffire Pro 40 User Guide which you can download here: http://us.focusrite.com/downloads?pr...Saffire+PRO+40

Best Regards.

Katherine Kaplan // Focusrite Technical Support

http://www.focusrite.com/answerbase/en/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Playback Problem: Overpowering Static Noise: Pro Tools can not get playback fast enou JLue Pro Tools 9 1 08-04-2011 08:59 AM
Fuzzy Static with ProTools playback and window media files playback 39lashesmedia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-25-2011 05:41 PM
Static "Playback" with Protools and Static "Playback" with windows files 39lashesmedia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-20-2011 05:57 AM
Protools and eleven rack - CONSTANT static during playback leftyjay 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 09-28-2010 06:26 AM
Static on Playback (Protools 6.0, Mbox boatsinbottles 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-18-2004 11:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com