Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-06-2002, 08:01 AM
Alécio Costa's Avatar
Alécio Costa Alécio Costa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Florianópolis, Magic Island - Brazil
Posts: 2,836
Default advice for budget condenser to record with PT

hi folks,
I use AT4050´s, AKG c3000B, c2000B and some other stuff from Shure to make my recordings. I do intend to record some choirs with an orchestra and a piano. Since I will need additional (budget) mics, which would you recommend me specially for piano, vocal overheads, strings:
a)C3000B
b)At4047
c)At4033
d)any other model you might suggest me

I will need to buy two units. I already have one c3000B so another one would make a perfect XY pair.

Thanks for any infoNice thursday
studiodp@terra.com.br
Alécio (might call me ALESIS, as it happened in the US - heheh) [img]images/icons/tongue.gif[/img]
__________________
Alécio Costa Studio
High-End e-Mastering & Music Production
www.aleciocosta.com

http://www.facebook.com/alecio.costa

PT HD2 Accel - 10.3.10 OS 10.6.8 - Mac Pro 1,1 16GB RAM and Mac Pro 2,1 GB
Mastering Gear: Pendulum Audio, Crane Song, Avalon, Great River, Sebatron, Sonnox, Izotope, PSP, TC, Fab Filter.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-06-2002, 08:33 AM
slangification slangification is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Nashville
Posts: 765
Default Re: advice for budget condenser to record with PT

rode nt-1 is a great budget mike. also the nt-2.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-06-2002, 09:10 AM
Brent Hahn Brent Hahn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 343
Default Re: advice for budget condenser to record with PT

If they weren't named "Rodent," they could sell for twice as much.
__________________
Brent Hahn
http://www.radioactive.la
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-06-2002, 10:26 AM
nutshell nutshell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: PA
Posts: 143
Default Re: advice for budget condenser to record with PT

Buenos dias compadre? hablas espanol?
Alecio:
Just came back from a "live" recording of the PA Philharmonic (not sure what it is called)...
Anyway - They used 2 shure ksm 44...
Man - it sure was sweet....

I myself will try and pickup 2 ksm 32's...

just my opinion...dan
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-06-2002, 11:15 AM
Alécio Costa's Avatar
Alécio Costa Alécio Costa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Florianópolis, Magic Island - Brazil
Posts: 2,836
Default Re: advice for budget condenser to record with PT

thanks for all your opinions and suggestions. However, for vocals I found that the KSM had lesser gain than a c300oB and an at4050
besides, you do have to use lots of deessing with the ksm32. but this is just my opinion!!!

anyone else?
__________________
Alécio Costa Studio
High-End e-Mastering & Music Production
www.aleciocosta.com

http://www.facebook.com/alecio.costa

PT HD2 Accel - 10.3.10 OS 10.6.8 - Mac Pro 1,1 16GB RAM and Mac Pro 2,1 GB
Mastering Gear: Pendulum Audio, Crane Song, Avalon, Great River, Sebatron, Sonnox, Izotope, PSP, TC, Fab Filter.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-07-2002, 12:50 AM
beech beech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 235
Default Re: advice for budget condenser to record with PT

If I had to I would could do a session with only AKG 414s. A great workhorse. Vocals, Guitars, O/heads, Strings, anything.

Daire
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-07-2002, 01:26 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,912
Default Re: advice for budget condenser to record with PT

Studio Projects C1!
A wonderful large diaphragm condenser with big bottom and sweet highs. Works on almost everything I’ve tested from guitar amps to x/y stereo overhead. Try it if you can. And it’s really cheap.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-07-2002, 03:11 AM
mdvirtual mdvirtual is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 140
Default Re: advice for budget condenser to record with PT

Rode NT1's aren't bad for the price (seen 'em lots of places for $199 with shockmount) I have a pair that I use for room mics, and sometimes on background vox.

A bit thinner-sounding than a 4050, but kinda nice in their own way.
__________________
Michael Damon
Composer/Sound Designer
Virtual Productions

PT Ultimate 2021.3, i9-9900k, 64GB RAM, Gigabyte Aorus Ultra MB, Sapphire Radeon RX580, Windows 10 Pro, Fireface UFX

PT 12.3.1, MacBook Pro 2.4Ghz Core i5, 8GB RAM, OS 10.10.5 Yosemite
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-07-2002, 03:59 AM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: advice for budget condenser to record with PT

dunno if you guys call it a budget one but IMHO the best mic for it's price ever made is the C414 B-ULS. not exactly cheap but definately not expensive. to beat it you have to pull out lots and lots more.
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-07-2002, 04:19 AM
Tetley Tetley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London
Posts: 6
Default Re: advice for budget condenser to record with PT

I can vouch for the Rode NT2. Very nice mic for the money. You'll need to feed it 48V though.

Garry Taylor
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to record with condenser mic via Mbox 3 austinbig macOS 2 03-14-2012 08:16 AM
Setting up a condenser mic to record vocals pennymary 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-13-2008 08:16 PM
Condenser Mic Help/Advice Sergius 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-08-2006 05:59 PM
No budget back up advice Jules Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 04-01-2004 06:45 AM
need advice on good mic for low budget dcarlson247 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 23 06-06-2003 11:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com