Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-17-2021, 08:42 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,575
Default Re: is HEAT included and HOW to enable it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akiz View Post
NO!



Cheers!
Exactly! Not included sorry. Only in SUBSCRIPTION and support plans are NOT subscriptions. So there is a lower price for HEAT If you wanna buy a license.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-17-2021, 09:04 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,166
Default Re: is HEAT included and HOW to enable it?

Just some sympathy for everyone... Avid has two different licensing schemes (license with update plan, and subscription) and it is not so clear for most. Many are thinking the yearly update plan renewal is "subsctiption" but it is not.

Subscription is the kind of licensing where you have access to latest software and support, but once you stop paying you cannot use the software at all.

Licensing means your license keeps working but without paying for update plan you cannot get updates.

Writing on the wall says there may be a day when everyone is on subscription, but so far you can choose.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-17-2021, 09:36 AM
Akiz Akiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 189
Default Re: is HEAT included and HOW to enable it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Just some sympathy for everyone... Avid has two different licensing schemes (license with update plan, and subscription) and it is not so clear for most. Many are thinking the yearly update plan renewal is "subsctiption" but it is not.

Subscription is the kind of licensing where you have access to latest software and support, but once you stop paying you cannot use the software at all.

Licensing means your license keeps working but without paying for update plan you cannot get updates.

Writing on the wall says there may be a day when everyone is on subscription, but so far you can choose.
Avid, is perplexing things up on purpose, if you ask me. All these shenanigans confuse users and create more stress in their support, which is not nominated for the "best of the decade (or ever)" customer support service...right?

Avid likes the word play. Annual plan is a "subscription" since one pays every year for it as the actual subscription which one pays every month or year. Eventually, in people's mind is equal.

Now maybe Avid should give a different name to their Subscription products, like RentTools and RentTools Ultimate to avoid the confusion and people know what they buy. Just a thought!


Cheers!
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1 "Late 2013", 12 Core 2.7 Ghz, 32Gb Ram, 1Tb SSD, MacOs 10.14.6 "Mojave", Apogee Ensemble Thunderbolt, Softube Console 1,
Avid Artist Mix, Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.7.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-17-2021, 09:57 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,166
Default Re: is HEAT included and HOW to enable it?

Wirding is everything, right? What changes if PT licencing model called "perpetual licence with support and upgrade plan" would be called "you can use the version you bought and can only get updates so long as your uodate plan is active, and hey there is no promise of future reinstatements in case tou let your plan lapse"


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-17-2021, 09:58 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,166
Default Re: is HEAT included and HOW to enable it?

No I am not drunk just typing on phone. Disregard the typos


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-18-2021, 12:48 AM
ZoeMusic's Avatar
ZoeMusic ZoeMusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 20
Default Re: is HEAT included and HOW to enable it?

I have a Heat iLok license if someone wants to buy it. P.M. Me!
__________________
Logic Pro 10.6.3 | Studio One Pro 5.3.0 | Audient iD14 MKII | MacBook Pro 3.2GHz M1 Chip | 16GB Ram | 1TB SSD | Big Sur 11.5.2 | Genelec 8020D & Yamaha MSP10 | CalDigit Element Hub THB 4 | Lacie Rugged Pro 1TB Portable NV/Me | Korg Kronos LS 88 | PreSonus Fader Port | UAD Ver. 9.14 | Sonarworks Sound ID Reference | Beyerdynamic DT 880 Pro

Last edited by ZoeMusic; 02-18-2021 at 01:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-25-2021, 08:32 AM
Treelady Treelady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 3
Default Re: is HEAT included and HOW to enable it?

The HEAT button (supposedly in the mix window) disappears. Sometimes restart brings it back. Sometimes not. This has been going on in recent months. The impact is significant for a working studio.

Please don't tell me to read the manual, check my iLok, activate in the Options menu or ask if I have the subscription. Rather, review this graphic


Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-25-2021, 08:45 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,166
Default Re: is HEAT included and HOW to enable it?

HEAT is installed with PT standard or ultimate (normal) install, it will show up if you have the license.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-07-2021, 10:51 AM
Treelady Treelady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 3
Default Re: is HEAT included and HOW to enable it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
HEAT is installed with PT standard or ultimate (normal) install, it will show up if you have the license.
Me:

Hi, I'm a long-time user and a member of the first class of Certified (Digidesign) Pro Tools operators for music production. I'm experiencing issues with HEAT that are new.



You:

If you have a license, it works. You must not have a license.



Me: Wow. So you're saying I am obviously too dumb to know that or check my iLok ... Which, just to be clear, was the first thing I did when trouble shooting this. But hey, I'm too dumb to do this.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HEAT not included with Track Commit zam226 Pro Tools 12 6 05-19-2017 12:02 PM
how to enable HEAT marcnyc Pro Tools 12 10 01-12-2017 03:34 PM
Will Heat for HD Native be included in the next version of PT 11? Justin1524 Pro Tools 11 52 07-24-2015 11:37 PM
Are ReVibe and HEAT not included in new HDX purchases? digidesigner Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 08-15-2012 07:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com