Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-27-2021, 12:08 AM
Tubthumper Tubthumper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 208
Default Re: Ready to upgrade - which version of Pro Tools?

Thanks for the heads up, I didn't realise that. Might be able to save a boatload of cash.



Has there been a standout Windows version of Pro Tools in the past year or two, or am I barking up the wrong tree?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-27-2021, 01:54 AM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,421
Default Re: Ready to upgrade - which version of Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tubthumper View Post
... Has there been a standout Windows version of Pro Tools in the past year or two, or am I barking up the wrong tree
Reading posts from Windows Members (who have way more experience and expertise than I), it seems like Pro Tools 2021 gets the thumbs-up

Appears that Mac users are the main ones “rolling back”

As previously mentioned, you can try the many PT versions available in Avid Download Center … but, for my minimal needs, 2021.6 and onwards!
__________________
Pro Tools 2021.7 & 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5.4 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads (Type 4276-37U) & 433830U Docks – SSDs Samsung 860 Evo & 2 T5s - Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-27-2021, 06:09 PM
Tubthumper Tubthumper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 208
Default Re: Ready to upgrade - which version of Pro Tools?

Thanks again, 2021.6 it is. I can uninstall and attempt to run earlier versions if needs be.

Appreciate all the advice everyone.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-04-2021, 03:24 PM
Mr. Kelly Mr. Kelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Newton, MA 02458
Posts: 270
Default Re: Ready to upgrade - which version of Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tubthumper View Post
Thanks again, 2021.6 it is. I can uninstall and attempt to run earlier versions if needs be.

Appreciate all the advice everyone.
Curious to know how your install and updates went?

I’ve been using my PC with windows 10 and PT 11 for the last bunch of years, and it’s been working out well.

I’ve been thinking of buying a reinstatement code to jump me up to PT 12.

How has it been working on your windows 10? I think we have very similar systems, as mine is an older one, as well.

Plus, can you tell whether Your reinstatement code allowed you to keep the license for your older PT versions, as well?

Hope all went well… Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-04-2021, 04:19 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,421
Default Re: Ready to upgrade - which version of Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Kelly View Post
Curious to know how your install and updates went?
I’ve been using my PC with windows 10 and PT 11 for the last bunch of years, and it’s been working out well....
Looks like Tubthumper’s impressed so far:
https://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=...2&postcount=11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tubthumper View Post
... PS I'm super surprised by Win 10 and PT 2021.3 - PT works pretty much as I expected, but it looks and feels better, I like the visual fade-in and-out of the dialog boxes and menus, very suave. And the Midi Editor now pops up under the Edit window - really convenient. Dark mode did my head in at first.
But Win 10 is wowing me, I have it on my 10 y/o old laptop and it's krap, slow - it's the laptop itself that's sluggish. On my music computer it's very snappy, looks great, Bing is a revelation, everything looks so much better, and runs "as quick as". Classy all 'round, which surprised me....


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Kelly View Post
...I’ve been thinking of buying a reinstatement code to jump me up to PT 12.
... Plus, can you tell whether Your reinstatement code allowed you to keep the license for your older PT versions, as well? ...
You lose/surrender the license you’re re-instating – but your subsequent (new - latest version) of Pro Tools license gives you access to most earlier versions via in the Avid Download Center: https://esd.avid.com/accountlink.aspx

If you can’t see what you want (if it’s earlier than Pro Tools 12.6) - get a free ASC Code (Case Number) from your Avid account and nominate which version you want -

Login to your Avid Master Account
Under “My Support Center” click on:
“Access the Support Center (Portal)”
__________________
Pro Tools 2021.7 & 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5.4 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads (Type 4276-37U) & 433830U Docks – SSDs Samsung 860 Evo & 2 T5s - Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-04-2021, 06:05 PM
Tubthumper Tubthumper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 208
Default Re: Ready to upgrade - which version of Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Kelly View Post
Curious to know how your install and updates went?

I’ve been using my PC with windows 10 and PT 11 for the last bunch of years, and it’s been working out well.

I’ve been thinking of buying a reinstatement code to jump me up to PT 12.

How has it been working on your windows 10? I think we have very similar systems, as mine is an older one, as well.

Plus, can you tell whether Your reinstatement code allowed you to keep the license for your older PT versions, as well?

Hope all went well… Thanks for your help!

All is good post the upgrade Mr Kelly, I'm glad I went through the process, although it's taken a bit of time... I'm on holidays at the moment, and we have a lockdown happening here in Brisbane, Australia, so not much else to do anyway.


I'm assuming you'd still have access to PT 11 once you redeemed your reinstatement license, but unkJE would have a better idea about this than me.


Good luck, and BTW, I read somewhere that reinstatement licenses are getting harder to come by.... check out Sounds Easy here in Australia, that's where I got mine. You have the exchange rate differential in your favour if you buy in Aussie dollars.


PS, I had to upgrade the PC's RAM to 16 GB, I bought and installed a larger SSD and a newer (though second hand) graphics card - that made a significant difference in performance in PT and in Win 10.

Last edited by Tubthumper; 08-04-2021 at 06:08 PM. Reason: added info
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 11 Upgrade when You have a Student Version of 10 Qali Pro Tools 11 2 05-17-2013 11:36 AM
Pro Tools 10 Student Version- To upgrade, or not to upgrade? KFPCalvin Windows 4 04-12-2012 08:37 AM
Ready to upgrade--best Mac for 8.1 HD? RKrizman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 10-06-2010 12:36 AM
Pro Tools LE 7.4 upgrade to Version 8 Crazycol 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 12-12-2009 09:59 AM
Waves Version 4-OSX Ready! Keith Robichaux Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-11-2003 08:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com