Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-20-2021, 08:01 PM
swethington swethington is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 66
Default Track Commit workflow question (commit to new playlist?)

Hi all,

This might be more of a feature request, but I'm curious if anyone has any tips on an efficient way to do this.

I was just using Melodyne to tidy up some vocals, and typically when I finish that kind of processing I like to print it to the track and remove the plugin. The way I do that now is to commit the track, then in the commit dialog I select the "do nothing" option for the source track, then I'll drag the tuned/committed clip onto the original track as a new playlist. That way I have any previous takes still available on other playlists if I need them but my main playlist is the comped and tuned vocal that will most likely be "the take".

I say this might be a feature request because I think in this scenario the most useful thing would be an option to "commit to new playlist" rather than to a new track - or alternatively to have the track's other playlists transfer over to the new ".cm" track....or another option would be if Melodyne worked as Audio Suite I could just render the playlist that way - but I'm curious if anyone has any thoughts about a more efficient or faster way to accomplish this than my current workflow.

It's not a huge pain to do it the way I've been doing it honestly, but it seems like something that *could* be more streamlined and I'm always looking for new ways to make my workflow more efficient from people here on the DUC and elsewhere so I thought I'd see if anyone had any tips.

thanks!
__________________
Mac mini M1, 16 GB RAM, Big Sur 11.4 (or sometimes MacBook Pro 2016, Intel i7, 16 GM RAM, Big Sur 11.4), Pro Tools 2021.6, Avid S1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-21-2021, 06:58 AM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,111
Default Re: Track Commit workflow question (commit to new playlist?)

I do commit, deactivate and hide track. Don't want to have to think about what Playlist needs melodyne active.

Sent from my SM-G986U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-21-2021, 07:48 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 2,000
Default Re: Track Commit workflow question (commit to new playlist?)

Agreed that "commit to new playlist" would be very useful here.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14, PT 2021.6 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24, 3xS1/Dock.
Also running a 2013 nMP / HDX / S6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-21-2021, 07:51 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,555
Default Re: Track Commit workflow question (commit to new playlist?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
Agreed that "commit to new playlist" would be very useful here.
...except you're sort of in danger of running the committed file through all the same plug-ins again unless you remember to bypass them. Not sure how useful it would be really. I agree with the above poster in that I keep all my untuned takes/comps on one track (as far as possible) and all the tuned ones on a corresponding track underneath.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-21-2021, 12:15 PM
swethington swethington is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 66
Default Re: Track Commit workflow question (commit to new playlist?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
...except you're sort of in danger of running the committed file through all the same plug-ins again unless you remember to bypass them. Not sure how useful it would be really. I agree with the above poster in that I keep all my untuned takes/comps on one track (as far as possible) and all the tuned ones on a corresponding track underneath.
I think in my case that wouldn't really be an issue because I'm using the 'commit up to this insert' feature rather than committing the whole track - I don't think I mentioned that in my original post. So any plugins that might be inserted after Melodyne (which is the first insert) aren't being processed in the committed file anyway.

For me, once vocal tracking is done and we've settled on a final comp I'll tune that one (I don't tune all the other takes) and then do the commit/copy to new playlist thing. Personally I prefer having all the takes on a single track and I don't really worry about what playlists are tuned or not once I'm done (for one, I know only the comp is tuned, and if I do need to pull something from a different take I'm not really concerned whether or not it's been tuned as long as it works better than what was in the comp - but this doesn't happen often anyway). That's just my workflow though.
__________________
Mac mini M1, 16 GB RAM, Big Sur 11.4 (or sometimes MacBook Pro 2016, Intel i7, 16 GM RAM, Big Sur 11.4), Pro Tools 2021.6, Avid S1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-21-2021, 03:14 PM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,555
Default Re: Track Commit workflow question (commit to new playlist?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by swethington View Post
I think in my case that wouldn't really be an issue because I'm using the 'commit up to this insert' feature rather than committing the whole track - I don't think I mentioned that in my original post. So any plugins that might be inserted after Melodyne (which is the first insert) aren't being processed in the committed file anyway.

For me, once vocal tracking is done and we've settled on a final comp I'll tune that one (I don't tune all the other takes) and then do the commit/copy to new playlist thing. Personally I prefer having all the takes on a single track and I don't really worry about what playlists are tuned or not once I'm done (for one, I know only the comp is tuned, and if I do need to pull something from a different take I'm not really concerned whether or not it's been tuned as long as it works better than what was in the comp - but this doesn't happen often anyway). That's just my workflow though.
Yes, makes sense - I'm certainly not against it being implemented if people think it's worthwhile
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Simple Freeze vs Commit question & L/R mono to stereo track ukemasta Pro Tools 12 7 06-09-2017 04:14 PM
Commit to New Playlist on the same traxk gdgross Pro Tools 12 10 04-14-2017 02:37 PM
Track Commit Question pasanta Pro Tools 12 3 12-01-2015 06:03 AM
Commit track bug LukeHoward Pro Tools 12 0 11-08-2015 10:16 PM
To Commit or not to Commit, that is the question. georgejw22 Pro Tools 10 10 12-20-2011 05:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com