Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-31-2021, 01:23 PM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 477
Default Headphone options with Dante and MTRX

Update: sorry, there is no headphone output on the MOM desktop controller, it's a footswitch jack!!!

Does anyone know how to activate the headphone output in the DAD MOM desktop controller. I can't find my MOM manual and when I try to download one, I get a bad request link.

I'm using it with a MTRX (not studio version).

Thanks.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 128 GB RAM, Mac OS Big Sur, Samsung EVO SSD

Last edited by SomeOtherGuy; 08-02-2021 at 09:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-31-2021, 01:26 PM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 477
Default Re: How can I activate the headphone output in the DAD MOM desktop controller

Ah, just found the manual--it's not a headphone jack, it's a footswitch jack!!!

Now I have to figure out a way to plug headphones into the MTRX...

Headphone amp is the answer.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 128 GB RAM, Mac OS Big Sur, Samsung EVO SSD

Last edited by SomeOtherGuy; 07-31-2021 at 01:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-31-2021, 02:56 PM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxfordshire and Geneva.
Posts: 418
Default Re: How can I activate the headphone output in the DAD MOM desktop controller

Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeOtherGuy View Post
Ah, just found the manual--it's not a headphone jack, it's a footswitch jack!!!

Now I have to figure out a way to plug headphones into the MTRX...

Headphone amp is the answer.
If you have Dante then consider a Focusrite AM2.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-31-2021, 03:06 PM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 477
Default Re: How can I activate the headphone output in the DAD MOM desktop controller

That's a great choice, thx.

At the moment I hooked up my Sound Devices HX-3 headphone amp, and it's working well, but the Focusrite would simplify the setup, as I just decided to ditch PT HD Native and go Dante. It's working great, and no jumping though hoops to get Mac system audio to pass.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 128 GB RAM, Mac OS Big Sur, Samsung EVO SSD
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-2021, 12:25 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,499
Default Re: How can I activate the headphone output in the DAD MOM desktop controller

The SD stuff is great. I used to have one of those headphone amps and really loved the sound quality. I have a MixPre6 now for remote recording and love the sound of that headphone amp as well. If you are picky about fidelity and latency - the KLANG quelle is vastly superior to the Focusrite stuff. Obviously, the AM2 is great for the money but just to throw out some options.

best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-01-2021, 12:38 PM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 477
Default Re: How can I activate the headphone output in the DAD MOM desktop controller

Yes, thanks Jeff, the Klang is at the top of my list. Only downside is I'd have to go back to using an ethernet splitter, whereas right now I'm good with the MOM connected to second Dante ethernet port on the MTRX. Simple is good!
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 128 GB RAM, Mac OS Big Sur, Samsung EVO SSD
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-02-2021, 12:48 AM
Johnny Hulst's Avatar
Johnny Hulst Johnny Hulst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Staphorst, The Netherlands
Posts: 148
Default Re: How can I activate the headphone output in the DAD MOM desktop controller

For a moment you had me. Headphone-jack on a MoM, grabbed the MoM in front of me: eeeh no.
I use RNHP headphone amp... works great.
__________________
Johnny Hulst

Hulst Audio Engineering
MacPro (2019) 3,3ghz 12-core, 64gb Ram, 2Tb system SSD
Avid HDX, UAD-2 Octo, RME Hdspe AES & HD Native Thunderbolt
Sonnet M.2 4x4 PCIe (4x 250gb Samsung980pro)
Sonnet Allegro Pro USB-A 3.2, 4-port PCIe
Avid MTRX - mic/pre- & da-card, Dante Module,
MADI Module with SFP/LC module multimode 1300nm
MOM by DAD
192 I/O (64 analog inputs)
Genelec 1237A Sam
Genelec 1031A
Avantone mixcube
Rupert Neve RNHP
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-03-2021, 06:11 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,499
Default Re: How can I activate the headphone output in the DAD MOM desktop controller

Here's yet another Dante headphone amp (more simple / similar to the AM2) that is less well known which I've heard good things about:
https://www.sonifex.co.uk/avn/avn-dio03.shtml

best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No headphone jack output - Meters showing output Hotcrazyfruit Eleven Rack 6 05-06-2012 12:09 PM
Eleven Rack: Headphone Output Impedance & Amp Output Tech Specs MR290378 Eleven Rack 12 11-29-2011 05:10 PM
003 Desktop controller will not work Gazaar70 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-01-2010 03:13 AM
Remote Headphone Controller? tim carter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 03-06-2007 08:47 PM
headphone output? KimSira ICON & C|24 2 01-16-2006 11:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com