Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-08-2004, 02:54 AM
Zoner Zoner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 75
Default To cache or not to cache???

To all:

Allright. As a PTLE user I am always trying to stay current on windows XP tweaks to keep my system reliable for audio work. One of these recomended tweaks is to disable write behind caching on hard drives although I can not remember the reason for this.

Now I recently noticed on an external firewire hard drive that I own, in the properties there is a page with 2 options as follows.

1) Optimize for quick removal

This setting disables write caching on the disk and in windows, so you can disconnect the device without using the safe removal icon.

2) Optimize for performance

This setting enables write caching in Windows to improve disk performance. To remove this device click the safely remove device icon in the system tray.

So I am confused. Does enabling write caching help or hinder a drive for audio use. I was told to disable it by one source and here this source says that it makes the disk better for performance.

Can anyone help?

Zoner.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-08-2004, 06:35 AM
lemix's Avatar
lemix lemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 10,894
Default Re: To cache or not to cache???

Hey Zoner ,

Not quite sure what most other users set this option for, but...
I'm using two WD Caviars (JD80 and JD120 w/8mB) in external boxes in addition to internal drives.
None of the write caching are enabled and my system is very fast and stable.

hope this helps,
cheers,
__________________
cheers,
Andrew


W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.3 / PT 12.4 ------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_DMG and more
2.0 and 5.1 monitoring
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-08-2004, 09:17 AM
3JDamon 3JDamon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 896
Default Re: To cache or not to cache???

Disk caching is better for transferring large files, but audio processing involves many small segments accessed repeatedly and frequently. A cache only gets in the way. However if your system is fast enough to work with the cache on, then don't worry about it. I turn mine off for audio, and turn it back on when I'm done. You can access the cache for each drive through the device manager, I recommend leaving the cache on for the boot drive.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDD 16mb cache vs 32mb cache Matt Rushmore Windows 16 03-18-2011 12:44 PM
Intel 2.8ghz (1mb cache) vs. 3,2ghz (512mb cache)? Ralph K 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-27-2004 11:51 AM
Western Digital 8MG cache vs 2MG cache? Pops Storage Subsystems 1 11-09-2002 08:00 PM
256k on-chip level 2 cache; 2MB level3 cache bigsmile General Discussion 3 01-10-2002 09:58 AM
256k on-chip level 2 cache; 2MB level3 cache bigsmile 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-07-2002 11:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com