Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2005, 08:35 AM
macD macD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1
Default Options for G3

I'm new to PT and recording and wanted to get a very basic set up going for home use...

What are my options, using a G3?

I'm assuming the Mbox or used Digi 001 are good starting points?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-24-2005, 08:48 AM
maccool maccool is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 398
Default Re: Options for G3

What kind of G3?
__________________
Dual 2.0 G5, 10.4.6, PTLE 7.1, 002R
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-24-2005, 08:51 AM
Reb Reb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 106
Default Re: Options for G3

Some G3's are not supported with the Mbox (check the compatibility section). You could probably use a Digi 001 though or a mix system if you have a g3 tower and want to look on ebay for used stuff. The Digi 001 would be cheaper. The other route that you can take is to use the G3 as a sampler/synth module setup and purchase a mac mini or imac g5 with which you could use the mbox or digi 002r.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-24-2005, 08:54 AM
DJ Insomaniac DJ Insomaniac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 1,282
Default Re: Options for G3

Well, if memory serves correctly, ProTools 6 is not supported on G3 systems (i'm assuming that you're refferring to the Blue & White model). Because of the PCI graphics card, it just won't work.

Your best bet would be a Digi 001 running 5.1.1 (with the Beta 32 upgrade, allowing 32 tracks) or an Mbox running 5.2.1.

Another option (probably not what you're looking for) would be to get a new computer and use the G3 as a file server or "other stuff" computer, like online work. A Mac Mini would do.

Good luck, let us know how it goes.
__________________
Sam Ejnes
Mix Technician, Freelance Sound Editor/Re-recording Mixer
samejnes.com | IMDb | Analog Jitter

rMacBook Pro 2.2 gHz Core i7, 10.10.3
16 GB RAM
MOTU 828mkII, PT 12.1 HD
Axiom 61, 2xArtist Mix
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Currently using 7.1.1 on 10.4.11, what are my options? Sixpence 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-08-2008 11:59 AM
where is my mp3 options nossnevs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-23-2007 04:47 PM
7.0 plus options skwad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-13-2005 04:26 PM
mix to pic options with LE/002 DARCsound Post - Surround - Video 2 06-30-2004 08:54 AM
HELP WITH MIX OPTIONS Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-31-2000 10:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com