Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-28-2004, 01:44 PM
DARCsound DARCsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Default mix to pic options with LE/002

I am current owner of G4 / TDM Mix 24, 888 I/O, USD - using Machine Control to lock up video pix cuts on a video deck to mix to pic. Potentially, we'd like to shift to G5 / 002 / PT LE w/ DV toolkit (rather than HD upgrade path, although I know its a good deal!). My question is, what are the options for mixing to picture and being frame accurate? The video side of the post house is using G5 / FCP HD / Aja & other high end cards...

I know that my current TDM system can import a qtime movie, but for hour long shows the playback is slow, choppy (even on separate drive) and takes extra step for video editors to compress & reassemble long movie in QT.

With a new G5 / 002 / PT LE, what are my choices for locking to picture (internally via QT or other method, or externally to a deck)? Is anyone using Firewire to control a DVCAM deck and locking it to the PTools timeline? Any other workflow options?

Also, I'm assuming I can export OMF (or AAF?) from FCP HD and import OMF (or AAF?) to PT LE w/ DVToolkit - without haveing to buy Digitranslator, as I'm faced with now in my current set-up TDM 24 Mix?

Any advice or feedback greatly apprecciated.

Thanks.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-29-2004, 10:45 PM
philper philper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: ALbany CA USA
Posts: 982
Default Re: mix to pic options with LE/002

DV Toolkit includes Digitranslator 2, and it works quite well.

Philip Perkins CAS
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-30-2004, 08:54 AM
steppenwolf68 steppenwolf68 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 213
Default Re: mix to pic options with LE/002

I use the Canopus ADC 100 for capturing video and also for outputting video to an external monitor.
Works perfect except if you do a lot of scrubbing.
Just make sure that timecode is displayed on the picture so you can properly align the movie in Pro Tools. Or if you get a Quicktime movie from FCP make sure TC is already burned in.
Omf export from FCP should work fine with OMF Tool.

I haven't tried it yet but Gallery has released a tool for Pro Tools to capture via 9-pin machine control. So there you go...
http://www.digidesign.com/diginews/2...04/gallery.cfm

Cheers
Peter
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Currently using 7.1.1 on 10.4.11, what are my options? Sixpence 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-08-2008 11:59 AM
where is my mp3 options nossnevs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-23-2007 04:47 PM
7.0 plus options skwad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-13-2005 04:26 PM
Options for G3 macD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-24-2005 08:54 AM
HELP WITH MIX OPTIONS Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-31-2000 10:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com