Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-18-2014, 02:13 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,340
Default New Wavetable VI from Xfer - Serum!!!

Our friends from Xfer, the guys who brought us Cthulhu, that nifty riff generator plugin, are releasing what looks to be a dynamite, powerful wavetable synth VI called Serum. (love the name!)

Here's a bit of audio examples. Sure sounds sweet to me. And from the description it sounds like there will be TONS of ways to manipulate, create, import sounds to do whatever you wish.

Normal price should be $189, but introductory price is set at $129 until 10/31. I expect a LOT of sound designers are going to hammering out tons of sound banks for this baby, too. RELEASE DATE SET FOR TOMORROW, SEPT 19th!! (none of this "soon" crap! an actual date!)

Here's some more sound examples.

May be well worth it for the introductory price. One of the beta testers described it as "Massive on cocaine!" Hmmm....
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2019.10
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-19-2014, 08:18 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,340
Default Re: New Wavetable VI from Xfer - Serum!!!

Serum is released!. This looks like an amazing VI, with the ability to import your own audio to create custom wavetables that can be chopped or manipulated in any number of ways.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2019.10
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-19-2014, 07:15 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,340
Default Re: New Wavetable VI from Xfer - Serum!!!

Got it tonight, and have only run through about 1/3 of the presets..but OMG is this a cool sounding VI. Easy to use, edit, play with...and sounds fabulous.

At the least, go check out the demo version!

I suspect a lot of sound developers will be creating all kinds of cool patches for this baby!

Congrats to Steve Duda and Xfer on this one!
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2019.10
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-24-2014, 10:25 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,357
Default Re: New Wavetable VI from Xfer - Serum!!!

I like this...
The sounds are nice however tuning roots varies between pitch-patches.
(A is not always A for example)

Definitely a power hog at least as far as changing sound patches.


Well worth looking into though!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-25-2014, 05:49 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,340
Default Re: New Wavetable VI from Xfer - Serum!!!

Yes, it is a bit heavy on CPU, but remember how much processing is going with it. As for the other issue...I haven't run into that at all. You might mention it on the Serum forum on the Xfer website. Steve Duda is pretty good about responding to any potential bugs.

One really nice feature he has it that for automation, there's a complete list of all the knobs with the automation menu in the VI window so you know exactly what's what when setting up an automation lane. There's so many, that just use numbers and you can't label them!

I know there are already some pro sound developers getting ready to offer up some new sound banks for Serum in the next month or so.

This a great overview video of Serum from Plugin Guru John "Skippy" Lehmkuhl.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2019.10
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-25-2014, 06:15 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,357
Default Re: New Wavetable VI from Xfer - Serum!!!

Thanks for the links.
T


"Yes, it is a bit heavy on CPU, " But solid!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-25-2014, 02:08 PM
Stereo Missile Stereo Missile is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 490
Default Re: New Wavetable VI from Xfer - Serum!!!

Been using this the last few days, Serum is amazing for upfront dance stuff, sounds are incredible!
__________________
Steve Peach
Stereo Missile Recordings

Creative Director - Red Note Visionary Sounds: http://rednote.com.au
Label: http://www.stereomissile.com/
Music Production / Mixing: http://www.stereomissile.com/musicproducer/
Mastering: http://www.stereomissile.com/mastering/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-17-2014, 07:58 PM
Kinh Kinh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 374
Default Re: New Wavetable VI from Xfer - Serum!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM
Yes, it is a bit heavy on CPU, but remember how much processing is going with it.
That's an understatement! This thing maxes a 6core processor with one preset! I thought session horns and Omnisphere were bad. Yeah the sounds are great but how in God's name can you use this in a session??

It says on the site that it doesn't "tax your CPU any more than the typical (decent quality) soft synth already does." Yet most of its presets crank your cpu from at least 30 to 100% with no trouble at all. Ive never hit the 100 mark before with any other plugin, this is the 1st.

Great sounds but totally impractical unless its used as a one preset standalone.
__________________
Intel 6 Core i7-4930K CPU @ 3.40GHz
32GB DIMM DDR3 G.Skill
Samsung SSD 840 EVO
WD Black SATA 7200
ASUS SABERTOOTH X79
Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Mbox3 Pro Firewire 400
ProTools 10.3.8
ProTools 11.3.1

https://soundcloud.com/matthewcrowe
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-19-2014, 10:16 AM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,052
Default Re: New Wavetable VI from Xfer - Serum!!!

Anyone else seeing this kind of extreme CPU usage behavior? This synth has pretty much instantly become extremely popular in the EDM world and it would be strange that this kind of CPU usage behavior would make it usable for that many poeple. I just bought it but am not at my studio at the moment to observe the usage. I will report back next week when it has been tested on that system.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-19-2014, 03:21 PM
Kinh Kinh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 374
Default Re: New Wavetable VI from Xfer - Serum!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by WernerF
Anyone else seeing this kind of extreme CPU usage behavior? This synth has pretty much instantly become extremely popular in the EDM world and it would be strange that this kind of CPU usage behavior would make it usable for that many poeple. I just bought it but am not at my studio at the moment to observe the usage. I will report back next week when it has been tested on that system.
Best to wait for the next demo version.

There's a new 1.01 version due this week which is supposed to have some CPU improvements for AAX.
__________________
Intel 6 Core i7-4930K CPU @ 3.40GHz
32GB DIMM DDR3 G.Skill
Samsung SSD 840 EVO
WD Black SATA 7200
ASUS SABERTOOTH X79
Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Mbox3 Pro Firewire 400
ProTools 10.3.8
ProTools 11.3.1

https://soundcloud.com/matthewcrowe
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools LE - Midi Output/PB - Microsoft GS Wavetable SW Synth not even an option gheed 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 07-19-2010 05:02 AM
Xfer 16 bit to 24 Bit for better processing in PT ryan de topanga Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-16-2008 10:46 AM
Microsoft Wavetable Synth question - need HELP!!! X-man 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-22-2004 04:52 AM
Xfer & Pull Down estephano67 Post - Surround - Video 1 01-07-2004 09:24 AM
Xfer TDM to 001 Seegs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-14-2000 08:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com