Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-15-2010, 03:05 PM
fhrussell fhrussell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 13
Default Best way in to Pro Tools on MacBook

Here's my situation. At work, I have access to a Pro Tools HD Accel 2 system where I do most of the tracking with bands. I'd like to be able to take the tracks home and use my MacBook Pro 15", OSX 10.6.4, 2.53 Ghz, and 4GB Ram to overdub guitar, vocals, and mix via home studio speakers or headphones. What's the most portable, efficient, and sensible way to get up and running?
I've been using 88.2 sampling rate.
Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-15-2010, 04:17 PM
Andi R Andi R is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 595
Default Re: Best way in to Pro Tools on MacBook

mBox Pro.
__________________
ReRecording Mixer & Venue D-Show Live Sound & Recording Engineer


www.audio-machinery.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-16-2010, 11:01 AM
fhrussell fhrussell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 13
Default Re: Best way in to Pro Tools on MacBook

Thanks AndiR! If I purchase this I'll be able to stay in the 88.4 sample rate? It's a firewire box, correct?
Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-16-2010, 11:10 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Best way in to Pro Tools on MacBook

Quote:
Originally Posted by fhrussell View Post
Thanks AndiR! If I purchase this I'll be able to stay in the 88.4 sample rate? It's a firewire box, correct?
Thanks again!
Yes. Either of the LE FireWire interfaces (Mbox 2 Pro, and 002/003) will go up to 96k, and can output 5.1 with the Complete Production Toolkit. It's as close as you'll get to HD without HD.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-17-2010, 11:29 AM
fhrussell fhrussell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 13
Default Re: Best way in to Pro Tools on MacBook

Thanks again! I guess I was hoping for a smaller box, portability is key. Any chance Avid will ever release something like the mini or micro, but with higher sample rate capability?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-17-2010, 03:34 PM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,920
Default Re: Best way in to Pro Tools on MacBook

How about the M-Audio Transit? http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/Transit.html which will do 96k. It is a USB device, but does what I need it to do.

I have several M-Audio devices for my personal systems, yet have 5 HD systems in our facilities. Going back-n-forth between any of them has never been a problem.
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-18-2010, 09:16 AM
fhrussell fhrussell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 13
Default Re: Best way in to Pro Tools on MacBook

Thank you Eric! Perfect! Then I guess the next question I have is what are the major differences between LE 8 and M-powered 8. After a quick look, it seems much the same.
This little box is ideal for my needs. I'm running from place to place constantly and a highly portable solution at 88.4 sample rate is all I need, and at a reasonable price!
I forgot to mention that my housemate's studio has a Digi 003 and he runs LE 8 of course. So this will all work well each other....?
Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-18-2010, 06:59 PM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,920
Default Re: Best way in to Pro Tools on MacBook

The M-Audio interfaces must run with M-Powered, just as LE must run with your 003. Of course, you'll have to purchase the M-Powered software additionally.
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Way To Get Pro Tools on Macbook? NightBronco macOS 1 08-30-2013 06:57 AM
macbook air 2 gb ram-which pro tools ? ana23 macOS 2 07-10-2013 09:48 AM
Which MacBook Pro to get for P Tools. WernerF macOS 11 07-23-2012 05:55 PM
Pro Tools 8 and MacBook Air Moviesound Post - Surround - Video 3 08-23-2011 09:20 AM
Pro Tools LE 7 with MacBook Dre aka Producer G Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 07-06-2006 06:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com