Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 12-29-2008, 07:46 PM

Default Bass Guitar

I have been working on numerous songs and am trying to get the bass parts recorded now. I have been going directly into the 002 rack and it hasn't been sounding all that great. I've tried EQ, slight overdrive, and comressing, but I still cannot get the sound I am looking for (which is thrash/black metal)
I am a guitarist/producer. I can transition to bass pretty well, so I know its not a technique issue. With using what I have, I am not getting the bass to sound right.
I don't have a bass amp, so Direct In is the only way to go. With using only what I have (bass, EQ and compression plug ins and 002 Rack) does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks
Old 12-29-2008, 07:56 PM

Default Re: Bass Guitar

Maybe try demoing some plug-ins like IK Multimedia AMPEG SVX and or try using a guitar plug-in like Eleven (never tried on Bass specifically but amazing on guitar for adding life to a lifeless instrument!) or even Metal Amp Room by Softube for a dirty growling bass or distorted bass sounds.

I'd try them in that order too. It's all personal preference so just gotta try em out and see. I believe those are all fully functional plug-ins as demos too. Report back and let us know how it goes~!

Old 12-30-2008, 12:11 AM

I believe Izotope's Trash lite comes with the Ignition pack!
Try this one.
Another suggestion is Amplitube or Ampeg Uno.

Hope that helps!
Old 12-30-2008, 04:01 AM