Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-06-2001, 11:53 PM

Default Percussion

I'm using MixPlus on a BW G3. Fairly new system to me.

The issue is drums. Currently, I write drum patterns in MIDI which addresses an old EMU Proteus-1. All works well but:

1. I am a writer/guitarist/pianist - not a drummer, so my drum parts are passable only for writing or demo purposes.

2. The old samples in the EMU just don't cut it unless I return them via an Aux and TDM the hell out of them.

SO, I SURE COULD USE SUGGESTIONS REGARDING:

1. Best way to have a library of great sounding drum PATTERNS (not just single hits)available. I'd need to be able to apply them to various tempos and to cut and paste to add fills, etc. where appropriate.

2. Do I simply get something (what?) like the old DrumTrax software (drum patterns in lotsa different styles) and a better sound module?

3. Do I buy Drum Loop CDs, bring them in as audio and go through the tedious task of separating the kick, snare, etc. onto separate tracks and then tempo adjusting to the song?

4. My local Digi dealer suggests Soft SampleCell (I don't have PCI slot available for SampleCell ll - nor do I want to invest in an expansion chassis and a $1000 program/card just for drums), but he knows little to nothing about this product.

5. I am totally in the dark as to software samplers and synths as I've always used Midi (with my minimal drum writing or DrumTrax patterns)addressing outboard modules. Is Soft SampleCell the way to go - at least initially? The Digi product info sheet is quite shallow on Soft SampleCell, at least for a neophite in this area - as I am!!

Thanks!!
I really NEED and APPRECIATE any help in this area!

Felix