Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-02-2007, 06:26 AM
Vagn Luv Vagn Luv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 22
Default Jam track ID

Anyone who can explain how to make two songs into one song by deleting the track ID on the last song, ie. make it one long song containing both audio files? I can't for the love of god find out how to do it, and the manual is not much help and the UI is so incredibly unintuitive(or I'm overlooking something obvious).

Any help would be much appreciated.

Damn I miss waweburner.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-02-2007, 08:43 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,676
Default Re: Jam track ID

Quote:
Anyone who can explain how to make two songs into one song by deleting the track ID on the last song, ie. make it one long song containing both audio files? I can't for the love of god find out how to do it, and the manual is not much help and the UI is so incredibly unintuitive(or I'm overlooking something obvious).

Any help would be much appreciated.

Damn I miss waweburner.
Hi,

I don't know that its possible? you'll need to create one audio file from the 2 songs then Jam will see it as one song with one start ID.

place both songs into PT, select the gap you want between them, then select "consolidate" to turn them into one file then use export file as.

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-02-2007, 09:13 AM
mhmh mhmh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 515
Default Re: Jam track ID

Quote:

place both songs into PT, select the gap you want between them, then select "consolidate" to turn them into one file then use export file as.

Chris
But isn´t that an annoying workaround?

After checking Jam and others for a while, I gave in and had to bite the bullet by getting the whole Logic Pro Package
just to use waveburner.

It did hurt a bit financially but is so much more comfortable.

Martin
__________________
Mac Pro 2,4 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon (Westmere) 32 GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, HD I/O 16x16 analog, HD I/O 16x16 digital, 192, PT HDX2, PT HD 12.6.0

http://www.pelhamundhaas.de/index2.html
http://www.pelhamundhaas.de/vita.html
www.3-p.de
www.imglashaus.de
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-02-2007, 09:56 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,676
Default Re: Jam track ID

Quote:

But isn´t that an annoying workaround?

After checking Jam and others for a while, I gave in and had to bite the bullet by getting the whole Logic Pro Package
just to use waveburner.

It did hurt a bit financially but is so much more comfortable.

Martin
It would take me all of 1 minute to execute and no extra cost!! means i can put my money towards something really usefull.

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-02-2007, 10:11 AM
mhmh mhmh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 515
Default Re: Jam track ID

Quote:


It would take me all of 1 minute to execute and no extra cost!! means i can put my money towards something really usefull.

Chris
Sure, but it´s the whole workflow and intuitive UI that makes it worth for me.

After all, as a Pro tools user you know that sometimes the extra cost really pays

Cheers, Martin
__________________
Mac Pro 2,4 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon (Westmere) 32 GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, HD I/O 16x16 analog, HD I/O 16x16 digital, 192, PT HDX2, PT HD 12.6.0

http://www.pelhamundhaas.de/index2.html
http://www.pelhamundhaas.de/vita.html
www.3-p.de
www.imglashaus.de
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-02-2007, 10:24 AM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Re: Jam track ID

guys, it takes seconds...

1. make very long audio fle in PT (import wav fles or whatever) exactly as you want to hear it.
2. make 2 or more regions.
3. EXPORT REGION DEFINITIONS to file
4. export long file as interleaved stereo
5. go to Jam and place the regions.

Done.
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-02-2007, 10:38 AM
mhmh mhmh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 515
Default Re: Jam track ID

Quote:
guys, it takes seconds...

1. make very long audio fle in PT (import wav fles or whatever) exactly as you want to hear it.
2. make 2 or more regions.
3. EXPORT REGION DEFINITIONS to file
4. export long file as interleaved stereo
5. go to Jam and place the regions.

Done.
Still quite a workaround compared to waveburner.

In waveburner I can do crossfades without altering any of the original masters, I can do a promo-version of an album
without changing the original etc., etc.

Martin
__________________
Mac Pro 2,4 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon (Westmere) 32 GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, HD I/O 16x16 analog, HD I/O 16x16 digital, 192, PT HDX2, PT HD 12.6.0

http://www.pelhamundhaas.de/index2.html
http://www.pelhamundhaas.de/vita.html
www.3-p.de
www.imglashaus.de
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-02-2007, 05:38 PM
Andre Knecht Andre Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,192
Default Re: Jam track ID

In Jam, there is one more way to achieve what you describe, without having to switch back to ProTools, or any other “external” editor. Like this…
[from the Jam 6 manual]

Adding an Image File as a Single Track

Jam recognizes an image file made up of audio tracks as an audio file, which means you can add an image file to a track list in the same way you might add an audio file or a region.

To add an image file as a single track, follow the appropriate procedures in Adding Tracks on page 11 [of the Jam 6 manual].

All original track IDs are ignored. The image file gets a new start time and a new (single) track ID.




IHTH.
__________________
Andre Knecht

We’ll fix it in the shrink-wrap. (Frank Zappa)

.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-02-2007, 07:45 PM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Re: Jam track ID

I'm sorry for my previous post -- i misunderstood the question... I misread it as one file for 2 track IDs (as opposed the OP question: 2 files for one track ID.)

That's just as easy -- one less step...

PS -- I hear the iPhone has some good mastering tools built in. ;-)
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Copy Audio Track Automation to Midi track controller (Mod Wheel) cybercampbell macOS 3 05-11-2013 10:18 AM
Track show/hide markers disable track record status BigBangPost Post - Surround - Video 4 03-27-2013 08:03 PM
Unable to Record (digitize) a Regular Midi Track to an Audio Track JuicyMusic macOS 9 02-27-2013 08:52 AM
Bounces selected track but shows remaining time of longest track mwsmith007 Tips & Tricks 5 01-06-2013 07:21 AM
PTLE 8 midi track controls inst track levels? AND much more. geetar777 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-25-2010 05:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com