Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Old 11-08-2013, 05:47 AM

Default Using Reaper to Host VST VI's in Pro Tools

As always with the digital world, there's a dozen ways to do anything. Here's how I use Reaper to host my VST virtual instruments from within a PT instrument track. Hope it helps any of you wanting to do this.

Old 11-08-2013, 07:45 AM

Default Re: Using Reaper to Host VST VI's in Pro Tools

Interesting! I've been doing almost the exact same thing for about two years now. So far, it's been working well.
Old 11-08-2013, 07:56 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by lownotesinc View Post
Interesting! I've been doing almost the exact same thing for about two years now. So far, it's been working well.
Situation is that most people here haven't had to do this before - b/c they had compatable versions of the VI's but since several of the manufactures haven't or won't go to AAX-x64 this is where reaper bcame a revelant resource to help people meet their end.

Obviously you can still host VST based VI's in reaper as well as the other formats that are not yet AAX-x64
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue

http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Old 11-08-2013, 10:50 AM

Hosting VI's in REAPER has been a go-to solution for a ton of us for almost 6+ years now since the PT 7 era. A few session templates could probably still be found in the old LE forum somewhere and will still work. The brilliant devs at Cockos were great to work with on this during their own betas. I think I drove schwa nuts a few times with my nit picking to get it going right in PT. They kept the spirits up with some humorous names of their beta builds that included Pro Tools though.