Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-27-2022, 09:07 AM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 507
Default Re: Optimising Offline Bounce Speed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
I find speed is all plugin related.

However, unless it's just a junk rough mix, I always use real time bounce. With music, I would never hand a client a mix I haven't listened to at least once.
But that's just me.
I only use offline on bouncing stems out. I still listen to the finished bounces, I just don’t have to listen to each one twice. :)
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, Open Core 0.8.0 EFI, Radeon RX580 GPU, GC-TITAN RIDGE TB3 PCIe card, M.2 NVMe SSD boot drive on PCIe card, 48GB RAM, macOS 11.6.6
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.4 HDX, UA Octo PCIe card in external TB3 chassis, MTRX Studio I/O, C|24 control surface.
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-27-2022, 10:15 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,428
Default Re: Optimising Offline Bounce Speed?

Dunno if its related, but I export QT vids a lot. Sometimes it's very slow, sometimes very quick. All the same formats and durations, all just rendering out the same single printed audio track.
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk
www.sound-on-screen.com - Original audio clips of movies, TV shows and games, licensed as regular production music.

PT 2021 Ultimate; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-27-2022, 02:23 PM
Sonopolis Sonopolis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Berlin
Posts: 356
Default Re: Optimising Offline Bounce Speed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by noiseboyuk View Post
Dunno if its related, but I export QT vids a lot. Sometimes it's very slow, sometimes very quick. All the same formats and durations, all just rendering out the same single printed audio track.
If you uncheck "Replace timecode track" bouncing to QT becomes much faster.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-27-2022, 06:42 PM
abc1mce2's Avatar
abc1mce2 abc1mce2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Motor City
Posts: 417
Default Re: Optimising Offline Bounce Speed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
I find speed is all plugin related.

However, unless it's just a junk rough mix, I always use real time bounce. With music, I would never hand a client a mix I haven't listened to at least once.
But that's just me.
What he said.

I had to use real-time bounce because of my former Hybrid setup. I still use hardware effect units and even though I can print those to audio tracks, I still real-time bounce regardless of whether or not I use my effect units.
__________________
What is more relaxing than Music?
Pro Tools Carbon is here!
My HDX is on the way out


Gigabyte Z490 Vision D - BIOS F21b
Intel Core I9 10850K Windows11 / macOS 10.15.7 Hackintosh / 32GB of Rams
Avid Carbon/HDX 2022.4 Ultimate - 16x16 - 8x8x8 HD I/O - PT Dock - PT Control - Artist Mix (2)
Universal Audio UAD2 Pci-E and Satellite USB Octo v.9.15.1 - SOLO 610 - Twin-finity
Antelope Trinity - 10M
Grace Design M905
Bricasti M7 (2)
Lexicon PCM96
Burl B2 Bomber ADC
Dangerous 2Bus
Neumann KH805 - KH310
Yamaha NS-10M
Avantone Mixcubes
Etc, etc, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-28-2022, 01:00 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,657
Default Re: Optimising Offline Bounce Speed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by abc1mce2 View Post
I had to use real-time bounce because of my former Hybrid setup. I still use hardware effect units and even though I can print those to audio tracks, I still real-time bounce regardless of whether or not I use my effect units.
I just went hybrid with a summing mixer so I'm now bouncing in real-time. I can still use offline for quick rough mixes though.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
FocusritePro 40 (2)
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
Rascal Audio Tonebuss 24
UAD-2 Octo Core PCIe

Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2021.12
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-28-2022, 01:22 PM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,428
Default Re: Optimising Offline Bounce Speed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonopolis View Post
If you uncheck "Replace timecode track" bouncing to QT becomes much faster.
Thanks, will try that next time.
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk
www.sound-on-screen.com - Original audio clips of movies, TV shows and games, licensed as regular production music.

PT 2021 Ultimate; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-17-2022, 07:42 AM
Rowan Watson Rowan Watson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: London
Posts: 6
Default Re: Optimising Offline Bounce Speed?

Thanks for everyone's input - all really helpful. The oversampling is what's doing it for sure.. I've been using kclip a lot. And have been using on individual tracks and busses to keep the master limiter from being knocked around more than I want it to be.. so a lot of oversampling but I hadn't really thought of that.

Definitely concur with what someone said about listening to bounces for quality control before sending to a client.. this was more a case of optimising the bounce function for all the times you might need to create to a draft or send a work in progress away to a collaborator etc. Would just love it to be lightning speed is all but hey.. good things take time! And 4.5x isn't bad.

Cheers
__________________
PT 2021.12.0 HD Native with Omni, MacPro 2019 3.2 GHz 16-Core Intel Xeon W, 96GB, OS 11.6.4
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Offline Bounce vs Realtime Bounce vs Recorded-in-Session - BIG differences in PT2021 andresix Pro Tools 14 11-19-2021 07:03 PM
Bounce Mix offline makes longer bounce than 'online' GregX Pro Tools 3 11-17-2021 03:58 PM
Offline Bounce speed dannymeltzer Pro Tools 11 11 12-14-2016 06:21 PM
Offline bounce crash, probably Waves-related, and offline bounce not 100% correct Skwaidu Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 03-23-2015 03:55 PM
possible to optimize offline bounce speed? breakie Pro Tools 11 0 07-10-2013 06:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com