Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-16-2008, 08:19 AM
LSW LSW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 342
Default are eSata audio drives supported?

Seagate 750 Pro, for some reason the FW connetions aren't working. Currently using USB, but I have the option for eSata. Will it work for audio drive and is it supported? I just got a new Dell XPS 420 and it does have an eSata port.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2008, 08:52 AM
sambeau sambeau is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wind Lake, WI
Posts: 70
Default Re: are eSata audio drives supported?

I'm looking at drive options also. Take a look in the digidesign support page - choose the system & app you are running & they have all of the info you would need.

Here's what they had under - windows / ptle 7.4 / eSata:

eSATA Hard Drives
Although there have been no reported issues with eSATA drives, these have not been tested by Digidesign, and are therefore not supported.

So, it may work, but, you'd be on your own for any issues.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2008, 09:02 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: are eSata audio drives supported?

LSW, eSATA is not officially approved but shouln't be seen as anything other than a regular SATA drive to the system, A lot of TDM and POST guys use eSATA.

Two areas that might cause problems are if the actual bridge chip in the enclosure is not PT compatible and if the actual HDD itself has a power saving feature that lets the drive spin down if its not being acessesed.

Try it
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2008, 09:17 AM
LSW LSW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 342
Default Re: are eSata audio drives supported?

Thanks for the replies - it does have the powersaving feature, but that would apply to FW as well and that wasn't an issue then. I'll have to order the cable.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-20-2008, 04:16 PM
T.W. Davis T.W. Davis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Woodland Hills, Ca. USA
Posts: 18
Default Re: are eSata audio drives supported?

This is weird. I have been running 2 500G Seagate Barracuda drives through the X33 port on my MacBook Pro. The interface is a SeriTek/2SM2. It was awesome, very fast. I use one drive for audio and the other for SFX and Video storage and playback. It worked great until I upgraded to 7.4. Now
Pro Tools will not allow me to change the the drive assignments from transfer to playback, or to record for that matter. Both drives are formatted correctly, i.e. OS Extended (journaled). My drive enclosure have the correct Oxford chipsets. I have trashed prefences and data bases but I still can't open any files in PT. Any Ideas?
Digi says to do all of the above and I've done it. Would it help to transfer all the files to another drive and then re-format? I really don't want to go back to 7.3.1, as I think the elastic audio function of 7.4 could be really useful in my work. (same problem when trying FW 800.)
Any help would be great. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-22-2008, 02:46 AM
3JDamon 3JDamon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 896
Default Re: are eSata audio drives supported?

Actually there is no bridge chip for eSATA. It's just SATA going outside the CPU - same cable, just different plugs on the ends, designed to survive more insertions. If you're using a PCMCIA card in a laptop, then the SATA chip may be a factor, but it's no different than SATA chips on laptop motherboards. I haven't seen any problems stemming from motherboard SATA chips.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-23-2008, 09:37 AM
T.W. Davis T.W. Davis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Woodland Hills, Ca. USA
Posts: 18
Default Re: are eSata audio drives supported?

Quote:
Actually there is no bridge chip for eSATA. It's just SATA going outside the CPU - same cable, just different plugs on the ends, designed to survive more insertions. If you're using a PCMCIA card in a laptop, then the SATA chip may be a factor, but it's no different than SATA chips on laptop motherboards. I haven't seen any problems stemming from motherboard SATA chips.

It's very odd that it works with 7.3.1, and quite well. However it is totally useless with 7.4. I followed all instructions from Digi: trashed databases, reformatted my drives and still, 7.4 would not allow me to designate my drives as record volumes. I've gone back to 7.3.1 until I can figure this out. Thanks for your input, it is much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-23-2008, 01:28 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,656
Default Re: are eSata audio drives supported?

Did you format them NTFS? 7.4 will not play nice with FAT32 formatted drives.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-23-2008, 04:43 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: are eSata audio drives supported?

Quote:
Did you format them NTFS? 7.4 will not play nice with FAT32 formatted drives.

Cheers,
Excellent point as a lot of external drives come formatted with FAT32
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
eSATA flash drives algerij 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-20-2011 05:53 PM
eSATA Flash Drives AKProductions Storage Subsystems 4 03-15-2010 12:14 AM
Looking into eSATA drives...Questions rems 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-09-2008 05:24 PM
eSata drives for pro tools. obsuleet 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-11-2007 10:05 PM
eSata card and drives in G5? subwoof Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-07-2006 05:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com