Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-19-2008, 03:55 PM
cclarkaudio cclarkaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Default Help me! Need playback through laptop speakers

I am new to using my laptop to record, and I need to be able to hear playback through the speakers built in to the laptop. I need help finding the setting to allow this. Someone please help me...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-19-2008, 04:01 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,799
Default Re: Help me! Need playback through laptop speakers

dont work, your playback has to be through your digi hardware.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 9900k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-19-2008, 04:12 PM
gjohung gjohung is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 361
Default Re: Help me! Need playback through laptop speakers

no can do...
__________________
Apple: MBP 2.53 - 4G RAM HDD 500G, iMac 27 inch 1TB
ProFire 2626, MBox Micro, PTMP 8, NIs, Strike, POD Farm, Logic 9, EJ Strat, 52 Tele RI, MB Mk 3, PRS CE22, Epi Casino, PBass, Variax, L6XTL, M13, DRRI, BM iGuitar, GR-33, KeyStation 88, Axiom 49
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-19-2008, 04:27 PM
Anders Magnusson Anders Magnusson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Help me! Need playback through laptop speakers

Think outside the box people!

I just tried this myself. Hook up the output from the mbox into the mic or line input of your laptop via a TRS to 3.5mm cable.

You will need to set the windows PLAYBACK mixer to mic (or line if thats what your using) and turn the volume up. Then you need to balance the volume with the controls on the mbox and the little speaker icon in the bottom right of your screen!

Its abit agricultural but it works!

Only problem is not all sound cards have these inputs on the playback mixer (my desktop does but my laptop doesn't)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-19-2008, 04:59 PM
Anders Magnusson Anders Magnusson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Help me! Need playback through laptop speakers

I just got this working through my laptop speakers by doing the above but using Winamp with a line-in plugin which can be downloaded from here:
http://home.hccnet.nl/th.v.d.gronde/...WA2/index.html

Install this plug-in then add the URL Line:// to Winamp's playlist. Double click on the item and you have sound from your mbox!

Not sure about the delay issue though, you will have to test this yourself.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-19-2008, 05:46 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,072
Default Re: Help me! Need playback through laptop speakers

That does work(obviously) but most laptops (the last 3 I owned anyway) only have a mono mic input instead of the stereo line input you really want. Given the sound quality (or lack thereof) on most laptops, I still think a set of iPod buds would make more sense.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-19-2008, 07:27 PM
Anders Magnusson Anders Magnusson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Help me! Need playback through laptop speakers

I don't think quality is the issue here at all. Headphones are an obvious option but also obviously not suitable for the guy otherwise why would you use your laptop speakers?

Yes I used the mono mic input of my laptop, it worked fine.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-21-2008, 03:38 PM
cclarkaudio cclarkaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Help me! Need playback through laptop speakers

thanks everyone im gonna try the suggestions and see what will work the best. And no, believe me quality wasnt the big issue I just wanted to monitor the input without using head phones, so ill see what works the best. I appreciated all the feedback.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-24-2008, 01:05 AM
j59621 j59621 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: Help me! Need playback through laptop speakers

or you could...uhhh......try plugging some speakers into your mbox. I hear that often works when you want to monitor playback without headphones :-D
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how do i switch sound fro integrated laptop speakers to audio interface?? thanatas007 Pro Tools 10 5 09-06-2012 11:13 AM
Audio out re-routes to laptop speakers? Earfatigue macOS 2 09-08-2011 10:19 AM
Monitor Through built in Laptop Speakers? JazzyJ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-16-2009 11:57 AM
Editing speakers for a Laptop KJVMBird 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-03-2006 12:40 AM
Playback on different speakers...WHY SO DIFFERENT? Robare 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 05-22-2005 06:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com